PDA

View Full Version : Recommened Workshop

Justin Holden
17th February 2009, 08:19 AM
Hi Guys

I'm pretty New to Oz, Have jsut hopped the Ditch from NZ

I am looking at buying an 86 from Melbourne, I am currently in Syndey, I was wondering are there any workshops or people who you would recommend to check out the car for me.

I am keen to buy it, but don't want to fly to Melbourne to find out its a total lemon.

I look forward to your replys.

Cheers

Justin

stahlz_ae86
17th February 2009, 04:42 PM
Where in Melbourne is the car located?

blacktopspirit
17th February 2009, 05:20 PM
any workshop you go to will give you a basic report, and the good work shops are pretty busy to be checking out cars.

you can try Status Tuning in Dandenong, but I'm not sure if he has the time for this sort of thing.

hitoriko
17th February 2009, 07:40 PM
Bang @ Amal Mechanical in the western sub of Deerpark
my family mech for 15yrs and has looked after me and everyone of my cars (see my sig)

im happy to provide phone number if needed

Sam-Q
18th February 2009, 12:24 AM
just get an racv report, they are very good at being thourogh

blacktopspirit
18th February 2009, 06:39 AM
Sam I have to disagree with you, they where the bees knees a few years ago, but all they do now is a basic report looking for shit anyone with half a brain could see themselves

a friend of mine got one done on a Commodore recently and they didn't even do a compression test!

and the report came back with
tyres worn 25%
leaking exhaust
chip in windscreen
paint scratched on rear bar (under car, you may not be able to spot it) yeas it did come in brackets like that!
possibly needs new leads

that was it!

I checked it out and it had a knocking noise from the motor and the diff!!!!

Sam-Q
18th February 2009, 08:46 AM
really? how times change

wasnt just one dodgy branch or do you think they have cutbacks overall in a piss-poor effort to save cash?

Justin Holden
18th February 2009, 09:57 AM