PDA

View Full Version : T 18 axle sizes

Gilly
1st July 2005, 09:31 PM
apparantly t18 axles are the same as early ae86 splined axles is this true i wasn't even aware there were early and late axles how do you know what you've got? don't want to order the wrong center, i think people could get caught out if they don't know the difference, especially if buying lsd centres 2nd hand $$$$$$$ http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/forums/emoticons/huh.gif

DRFTAE86
2nd July 2005, 01:25 PM
If i'm wrong, some1 please correct me. I'm also new at the t-18 info, but this is what i've learnt.

As far as i know..... All T-18's only use early model LSD's (ZENKI).

And from what i've seen the differance between an early model t-18 and a late model is late models are more likely to have sway bar mounts (like mine http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/forums/emoticons/smile.gif )
If you get an early model ur gonna hav to cut the swaybar mounts off ur stock 86 rear axle and welded em on to the t-18 axle.
Also some early model t-18 centres can hav shit ratios like 3:9.... you should get 4:1. Or acceleration will suffer.

DRFTAE86
2nd July 2005, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by DRFTAE86@Jul 2 2005, 12:25 PM
Early model LSD's (ZENKI) are usally marked saying :For AE86 manufactured between 1983/5 - 1985/10 (this is the LSD u'd want for a t-18)

Late model LSD's (KOUKI) are marked saying:For AE86 manufactured between 1985/10 - 1987/5 (WILL NOT fit a t-18).

upgarage
2nd July 2005, 04:55 PM
yep what he said,
get a 4.1:1 ratio out of a ta22
get a diff shop to bolt to lsd and carrier then bolt it in

Hyuga
2nd July 2005, 07:53 PM
Originally posted by DRFTAE86@Jul 2 2005, 12:25 PM
If i'm wrong, some1 please correct me. I'm also new at the t-18 info, but this is what i've learnt.

And from what i've seen the differance between an early model t-18 and a late model is late models are more likely to have sway bar mounts (like mine http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/forums/emoticons/smile.gif )