PDA

View Full Version : Solidworks 2009

PuGZoR
6th July 2009, 05:32 PM
Hey kids,

I've been playing with Solidworks 2009 a bit lately, and just wanted to know if anyone else has.

I can safely say I could design things like spacers, RCAs, maybe even a flywheel all from billet now. Only pretty simple stuff, but I'm getting there. Even designed a billet card holder today, lol. For the ultimate in office wank factor.

So yeah, anyone else delved? Pics!

dreny...
6th July 2009, 06:39 PM
Ha, i am an industrial designer (for Clipsal) and have been using solidworks for about 6 years and it is my preferred CAD program over UG, Auto CAD, Pro-E etc. Its the bomb. Have fun and if you need any help just ask. I designed a golf cart for my final year project in solidworks with over 70 components with multi linkage capabilities. I will see if i can get any pics up later.

corknose
6th July 2009, 07:56 PM
i just started a toolmaking appecnticeship and im going to start doing CAD i have a programme on my computer at home called turbo CAD not too bad just picking up the basics,

Medwin_3sGTE_AE86
6th July 2009, 08:41 PM
i just started a toolmaking appecnticeship and im going to start doing CAD i have a programme on my computer at home called turbo CAD not too bad just picking up the basics,

:unseen::gah: LOL

As for solidworks, have heard a bit, never done anything with it. I've spent alot of time with AutoCAD, CivilCAD, Microstation and mainly Pro/E, and all I can say is that for solidworks to be better than Pro/E it must be a friggen awesome package! I spend 8-10 hours a day on Pro/E and it is a pleasure! :thumbup:

slide86
6th July 2009, 09:39 PM
what would be the best program for someone starting out who just wants to dibble dabble in designing stuff???

dori_86
6th July 2009, 10:25 PM
what would be the best program for someone starting out who just wants to dibble dabble in designing stuff???