Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: load problem?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    403

    Default load problem?


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    i have this problem.

    my motor revs fine all through the rev range till i put load
    on. ie-driving it down the street
    wether i drive normally or stomp the throttle it does it.
    i beleve its not the motor? i think its fuel or electric.
    my reason for this is
    my original motor blew a piston so oil through intake. (smallport)
    now i got another motor and it started then! (bigport)
    now the only thing i used off the first motor was the intake manifold and sensors.
    so i cleaned the manifold and sensors before building my 7age motor.

    but its still there. my theory's is one of the following-

    fuel stail? it was sitting for a little bit 2-3months?
    timing? not sure if it would have this effect.
    not enough fuel? now i have taken the hks cams out and put in std cams and no difference <_<

    any ideas i can try?

    oh and if anyone has a link to timing set up of a smallport please ad as i wanna double check everything ive done.
    Last edited by wide s13; 15th January 2009 at 10:22 PM.

  • #2
    Site Supporter Javal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Josho
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,972

    Default

    The 2-3 month old fuel would not be helping.

    Did you inspect the condition of the new motor before installing it?
    You can have any brew you want... as long as it's a Datsun / Corolla / What is that?

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    403

    Default

    yeah i did it was like brand new. comp test where even across all four cant remember the numbers its written down somewhere.
    but for the bigport to do it now the 7age in the same spot different tourque curves its gotta be something that has stayed with the car?

  • #4
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    john
    State
    nsw
    Location
    liverpool
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    1,164

    Default

    check fuel filter and then check fuel pump ...

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    403

    Default

    new items on both

  • #6
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dave
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,666

    Default

    ignition timing has a MONSTER effect on the power an engine makes.

    make sure your cam timing is correct to, but its harder for that to get out of alignment.

    your spark/igntion timing is crucial to the opperation of the engine.

    you NEED a timing light to check it properly.

    it should be around 15deg before top dead centre (BTDC) at idle, and it should advance free reving to around 30-40deg BTDC.

    i dunno how much it advances under load (as im always behind the wheel) but i reckon its gota be alot.

    so id be checking that.

    i had an engine running with a base timing of 20 degrees AFTER top dead centre. it sounded aweful, but it did run/ idle/rev quiet well. but no way would it move!!!!

    like others have said crap fuel wont help, they reckon fuel goes funny after 2 weeks or so.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Trev
    State
    Queensland
    Location
    Redbank Plains
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    401

    Default

    Its 10 degrees BTDC with the check connector in place.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    447

    Default

    Plugs/leads/dizzy cap/rotor button can all run fine but breakdown under load.
    I'd be checking these bits.
    Last edited by af300e; 16th January 2009 at 11:42 PM.

  • #9
    Senior Member Matt-AE86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    WA
    Location
    Perth
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    971

    Default

    Check your TPS. See manual.

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Trev
    State
    Queensland
    Location
    Redbank Plains
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    401

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Throttle Position Sensor - Adjustment

    1. Loosen two screws of throttle position sensor.

    2. Insert thickness gauge (0.47 mm or 0.0185 in.) between throttle stop screw and lever, and connect ohmmeter terminals IDL and E2 (top 2 terminals of tps).

    Gradually turn sensor clockwise until ohmmeter deflets, and secure sensor with two screws.

    3. Using thickness gauge, recheck continuity between terminals IDL and E2.

    0.35 mm (0.0138 in.) - Continuity

    0.59 mm (0.0232 in.) - No continuity.

  • Similar Threads

    1. 4age 16v hunting under load
      By AIROCOBRA in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 30th September 2011, 10:05 PM
    2. 4age cant rev properly under load
      By evil86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 4th January 2010, 09:06 AM
    3. spluttering under load?
      By KE70 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 22nd October 2009, 07:22 PM
    4. WTB LOAD OF PARTS
      By silver styler in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 25th December 2006, 03:44 PM
    5. I just blew my load...
      By wanabdrifta in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 2nd July 2005, 06:21 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •