Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Should pulse be used for stick welding?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Vezza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Vesley
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Geelong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default Should pulse be used for stick welding?


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    I know the pulse function on a TIG/Stick welder is generally used for the TIG. But would stick welding also benifit from using the pulse function.

    From what I can figure out, it probably would, as the function of the pulse is to momentarily pulse a much higher current than the base welding current. Which helps with penetration and fusion, without burning through the metal.

    Would this be correct?

  • #2
    Member SSD20V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Telly
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Inner West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    74

    Default

    You can only use pulse in tig mode,dont think it operates under stick mode.You mainly use pilse on Aluminium tig.

  • #3
    Senior Member Vezza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Vesley
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Geelong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default

    The pulse function works on either tig or stick with my welder.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    447

    Default

    No need to pulse on stick, I've never tried pulse on stick welds but i'd imagine you'd get issues with sticking electrodes and funky looking weld beads.

    I use the pulse mode only on very thin aluminium jobs.

  • #5
    Member SSD20V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Telly
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Inner West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Has your welder got a button to switch between stick and tig ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Vezza View Post
    The pulse function works on either tig or stick with my welder.

  • #6
    Senior Member Vezza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Vesley
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Geelong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Yep, and even in stick mode if you have the pulse on, you can hear the machine pulsing.

  • #7
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Get two bits of steel, do half with normal a weld and half with pulse.....see which is better.......problem solved, lol

  • #8
    Senior Member Vezza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Vesley
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Geelong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    270

    Default

    Lol the problem with that is, to actually see the benifits of a good weld it needs to be x-rayed, for penetration and fusion. Guess I could cut em up....

  • #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Name
    Craig
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Northern Beaches
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vezza View Post
    Lol the problem with that is, to actually see the benifits of a good weld it needs to be x-rayed, for penetration and fusion. Guess I could cut em up....
    do both welds, then put them in a press and break them, see which one breaks better. thats how they taught us at tafe.

  • #10
    User fantapants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Pat
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Other
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,613

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    shouldnt "practice" welds be done and broken at the start of every days work or change of job? just to check your setting s etc etc?

    so weld two scraps of the current metals together at what you think is the right setting then smash with a hammer... should bend and break befor the weld fails... or so i got taught?
    RIP Carly - a smile to light the world.
    06/07/2011

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Weak injector pulse
      By Matt in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 18th December 2011, 11:54 PM
    2. No injector pulse on 4agze
      By Sprintn in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 19th September 2011, 06:09 PM
    3. what welding rods to use when welding a diff???
      By macca1590 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 14th March 2011, 10:36 PM
    4. no injector pulse 4age
      By cozmic in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 7th February 2010, 10:56 AM
    5. injector pulse
      By johnO2 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 30th July 2008, 12:28 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •