Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: removing LCA from XT130 struts

  1. #1
    Senior Member darkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Shawn
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Canberra
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    252

    Default removing LCA from XT130 struts


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hey All,

    A few months ago I picked up some complete struts out of a XT130 orginally I was going to put them in the ke70, but due to laziness I've decided not to bother and just pull the lower control arms off the struts and just use them.

    Question is though; I was just looking at the xt130 struts, who the bloody hell do your remove the LCA's? is there a certain tool needed or something? any one got a link to a guide or something? I spent a bit of time looking but couldn't find shit.


    Cheers in advance

  • #2
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    2 bolts under the steering arm. Remove those, crack the strut apart and see what wonders you find.

    If you can be bothered.

  • #3
    Senior Member 08ftwyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Tim
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Milton
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Just put the rona struts in man. Half a days work.

  • #4
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 08ftwyo View Post
    Just put the rona struts in man. Half a days work.
    He is right you know. Doesn't take much to fit them, you'll need a rattlegun for the strut top swap thats about it for difficult stuff.

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Mark
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Hobart
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    783

    Default

    whenever i have changed front suspension i just crack the strut top nut with a long bar while it's still on the car and not on the jack. If that makes sense...
    So then after i've got it moving slightly i jack up the car etc and when i actually want to pull the strut top off the nut just undoes real easy!!

  • #6
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    I cant understand why or how that would work.

    I need the rattle gun cause I cant hold the shaft to stop it turning. I thought everyone else did too.

    ?

  • #7
    Senior Member adam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Adam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    208

    Default

    I think he means having the strut all installed and undoing the nut while the car's weight is on the strut (all down as if you wanted to drive). I've done it that way before and it's much easier than having vice grips holding the shock on the ground.
    Previous ride: 4AGE powered KE70.

    Current: JZX100 Chaser and '73 Datsun 240z.

    http://twofortyzee.wordpress.com

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Mark
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Hobart
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    783

    Default

    yeah thats what i mean! Everytime this comes up i always see people talking about the rattle gun thing and i've never understood why you wouldn't do it my way!
    Though one time i forgot to do it before pulling the wheel off but even then it was easier to put it back in and drop it off the jack than to hope that the rattle gun would get it!

  • #9
    Senior Member darkon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Shawn
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Canberra
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    252

    Default

    hmmm well on that

    1. isn't there some fowling issues with the corona struts?

    2. do falcon springs fit xt130 struts with ke70 tops?

    3. Do the ke70 brake lines fit the xt130 calipers?

    4. Aren't the xt130 control arms wooful? (i know you can get ae86 ones had some ps arms but sold em and don't really want to chase down more)

  • #10
    Veteran Clinton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Clinton
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Tweed Heads
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,048

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    1. not with std xt130 lca

    2. wtf would you want falcons in the front?

    3.more than likely

    4.xt130 LCAs are cool.

    FTP.
    Quote Originally Posted by svenmate View Post
    I love how all the SA boys get on board
    Quote Originally Posted by Konakid View Post
    im driving out there with new hydro setup
    Quote Originally Posted by myke90 View Post
    haha i have the exact same picture from when i got my sportmaxx lol.
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard View Post
    whats with the drift rings? i know they are just a novelty but do they represent or signify anything?

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 18
      Last Post: 5th December 2011, 11:48 PM
    2. KE70 - XT130 Struts and LCA's - Does KE70 Sway bar fit
      By Futo_gt86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 31st July 2011, 04:25 PM
    3. WTB S.A: AE86 front struts, and Xt130 lca's
      By KE - LXX in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 20th May 2010, 05:49 PM
    4. 14 x 7's, xt130 LCA, AE86 Struts, AE86 LCA [BRIS]
      By blair in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 3rd November 2009, 06:52 PM
    5. will xt130 LCA's fit in a ke70 with the stock struts??
      By mtgg85 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 7th July 2008, 12:49 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •