Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Making front coilovers, cutting out MORE than 40mm from the strut casing?

Name
    Lucky
    State
    California
    Country
    USA

Default Making front coilovers, cutting out MORE than 40mm from the strut casing?

I asked this question on club4ag but I never really got a solid response.

Has anyone done this?

I'll be in the process of making coilovers, Ground Control sleeves and springs, AGX's, etc. I've always seen people cut out 40mm from the original strut casing, AND THEN put a 20mm spacer at the BOTTOM, so that it sits flush with the top of the strut.

So I'm wondering, instead of having a 20mm spacer at the bottom, why not just cut out that extra 20mm from the strut casing and have NO spacer? I'm by no means a suspension expert, I can barely put shit together, but thinking about it...

Spacer at the bottom means shock is raised 20mm
    Efficient shock travel will be raised 20mm

So if the spacer is eliminated, that means it'll sit lower, and the optimal shock travel will be lower. This would mean that the car would have to sit lower in order to be in that range, correct?

I'm looking for someone who's actually done this, but please people, chime in if you can.

For reference, this is how my car sits currently:

Stock non-cut strut casings in the front, NO springs, so it's just sitting on the shock haha. I'm trying to achieve this height and still have decent shock travel... if that's possible.

Cheers!
    -Lucky/Laurante/Teh Luckinator
    *e7*club! ke70's, te72's! check out our build threads! link below.
    http://www.e7club.org

Name
    Pat
    State
    TAS
    Country
    Australia

pm slydar, or wait for his response here but im you wont be able to get the suspension into a useable stroke range with the casing cut that short....
    RIP Carly - a smile to light the world.
    06/07/2011

Veteran
    Name
    Dave
    State
    QLD
    Country
    Australia

bloody hell thats low.