Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 104

Thread: All about welders and welding

  1. #21
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    hey check the voltage of the wire feed motor, it's probably 12V DC. If so maybe one of those 1 Farad caps would help you out?
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #22
    Senior Member Anthony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Anthony
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    831

    Default

    I dont think reliability is an issue, especially with a kemppi. You'd have to look pretty hard to find a tig that isnt inverter, and they're fine. Even the knockoffs. Same 15 year old tech.

  • #23
    Veteran driftke70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Ryan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Buderim
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,497

    Default

    "for the joy of welding"
    wheelfriends.wordpress.com

  • #24
    Senior Member orange32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Zac
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    471

    Default

    What would people recommend for a single phase mig welder around $1000? I only have 10amp plugs at my house, I don't really want to get 15amp installed unless I have to. Has to be able to run with and without gas. I pretty much just want it to tack my exhaust and screamer together (i can take it to work and weld it properly) and to seam weld my chassis amongst otther smallish jobs around the house.

    Would I be best to look for a better branded second hand welder, or buy a new one that may not be of the same quality?

  • #25
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    the only difference betwen 10A and 15A is just the outlet itself, 5 screws in total and a $15 outlet.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #26
    Stern but now fucked off...
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Name
    Nick
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,892

    Default

    Beware : MIGs over say 170AMP to 225AMPs that have 15A plugs have a 15A plug because they draw 12 ~ 15 amps at full song.

    So unless you're changing plugs to to very light duty work, you're fucking yourself out of full power. And will probably start a fire in your fuse box on the side of your house if you do it for a decent enough length of time...

  • #27
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    with all respect that's completely wrong Nick. By Australian standards all household power supplies unless located for a fixed appliance with a keyed plug have to have as a minimum 2.5mm cable. Now unless this has to be de-rated it's ok for a 16A load. Even if it's not the circuit breaker is matched to the cable and how it's run. This is determined by the charts of the AS3008.1.1 rule book. So no matter how bad the conditions overloading a circuit will never cause any switchboard issues other than tripping the breaker/melting a fuse unless you have a shonky wiring job, I mean that's the whole point of the circuit protection. As a general rule you can suck as much current out of a cheap Arlec wall socket as the circuit will allow, this I know from personal experience, I push 20A amps out of mine. The reason why they even bother with the different pin is so someone doesn't use a 1mm cored extension lead to extend a 15A device, this will cause the lead to melt for sure. What the standards should be is that all outlets have the long pin and only the 10A leads have the shorter pin, that would make a lot more sense.

    This is why I never bothered with any 15A wall outlets in the 20? or so outlets in my garage when I wired it all up, I just made a 15A female to 10A male adapter lead, however I did use a 1.5mm flex lead.

    My ex-electrican rant here
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #28
    Stern but now fucked off...
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Name
    Nick
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,892

    Default

    I used it for artistic expression.

    Just get 15A

  • #29
    Senior Member orange32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Zac
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    471

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sam-Q View Post
    the only difference betwen 10A and 15A is just the outlet itself, 5 screws in total and a $15 outlet.
    I had no idea that was the case. Is it possible to run a 10amp plug from a 15amp outlet? I only have 2 outlets in my garage and a welder would be the only thing running 15amp.

    I am completely retarded when it comes to electricity and wiring

  • #30
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    yes you can chnage both your outlets over to 15A types and yes 10A fits in it still.

    Hey you guys should see this 20A single amp outlet I have, all the pins are long like the earth in a 15A one.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Tig Welders
      By willa in forum Tool Talk
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 23rd March 2011, 08:20 AM
    2. what welding rods to use when welding a diff???
      By macca1590 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 14th March 2011, 10:36 PM
    3. welders flash
      By dr1ft-pig in forum Offtopic Discussions
      Replies: 27
      Last Post: 10th August 2007, 12:41 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •