Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 104

Thread: All about welders and welding

  1. #31
    Veteran takai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    Chris
    State
    Vic
    Location
    Melbourne - Northish
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,106

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Yeah, but according to the regs you should only have one 15A applicance on at the end of a 15A lead. Running multiple is a no-no.
    Now you are most likely to blow the fuse/CB before you start a fire, but in older houses you never know.

  • #32
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    ok I am not familiar with that reg, as soon as I find my AS3000 I will check it. If your right Chris I will be embarrased.

    Anyway Orange I want you to do something, go to your switchboard and tell me how many power circuits you have an if you have circuit breakers. Also any idea on your house age?
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #33
    Senior Member orange32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Zac
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    471

    Default

    Like i said, I am retarded when it comes to electricity. I just had a look at the fuse box. It has 8 on/off switches, including the main circuit breaker. The house is 14 or 15 years old
    Last edited by orange32; 12th June 2010 at 01:53 PM. Reason: spelling

  • #34
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    well thats a good sign, do half of them have 16A on those "switches"? BTW those are the circuit breakers
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #35
    Senior Member orange32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Zac
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    471

    Default

    it has 5 x 20A, 1 x 10A and the main is 63A.

  • #36
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    WTF!? dude that's huge. Yeah just get someone to swap the outlet in your garage, 20A goes a long way
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #37
    Senior Member orange32's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Zac
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    471

    Default

    Excellent. I have a friend who is an electrician and owes me a favour for working on his 180sx. I'll get him round and see what we can do.

    Thanks for your help Sam.

    Also, any recommendation in welder? gas/gasless, weld at least 6mm plate, under $1000.

  • #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Joash
    State
    Tasmania
    Location
    North west
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    476

    Default

    just change your plugs with the grinder thats what i did...15a now works everywhere

    also bought a 200a magmate like this puppy but 200a and it powns the noobs

    http://www.bocworldofwelding.com.au/..._rgb_black.jpg

  • #39
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,242

    Default

    voids the warranty dude and seeing I have a 3 year one that's a big thing for me. Besides a 3 meter entension lead is pretty handy.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #40
    Senior Member ecko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Name
    Jack
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Blackmans Bay
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    277

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    what would be a semi ok mig for a pretty close to beginner welder, im going to start playing to self teach some welding, are the cheapys in repco etc anygood?

    looking up to $600

  • Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Tig Welders
      By willa in forum Tool Talk
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 23rd March 2011, 08:20 AM
    2. what welding rods to use when welding a diff???
      By macca1590 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 14th March 2011, 10:36 PM
    3. welders flash
      By dr1ft-pig in forum Offtopic Discussions
      Replies: 27
      Last Post: 10th August 2007, 12:41 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •