Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: AE71 Tacho mod for modern ignition.

  1. #1
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,888

    Default AE71 Tacho mod for modern ignition.


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi everyone. If you are like me, and you run coil on plug ignition or coilpacks, you probably have connected the tacho wire and noticed that the tacho doesnt function. Mine would do the odd jump and show different data if you turned the lights on or went into reverse, etc. It never actually worked in the 3 years Ive had a 20v ae71 on the road.

    I decided yesterday enough was enough so I found the info for the GZE tacho mod into ae86. I then did a few experiments with my tacho to get it working as it should.

    The ae71 has a different Tacho circuit board to any other corolla. It has a variable resistor from standard to adjust the tacho readout which is something that nobody has noticed on other corollas from what I can tell. Its quite cool really.

    The process for adapting your tacho so it will function correctly is quite simple and outlined in the below before and after photos.

    You will need one 15kohm resistor and and capacitor. If you want a greater range of adjustment you can go to a variable resistor with a greater range of adjustment.

    Before:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	before.jpg 
Views:	321 
Size:	68.0 KB 
ID:	15911

    After:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	after.jpg 
Views:	296 
Size:	72.2 KB 
ID:	15910

  • #2
    Member Philbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Phil
    State
    NT
    Location
    Darwin
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Wow, that's cool man, gonna do this to mine for sure!
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim.duncan View Post
    Will you post #4 piston and the centre bearing from the turbo to broom?

  • #3
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,888

    Default

    Yes a couple of others have done this and reported it worked great for them to, so go for it eh. Its great to have a little data.

  • #4
    Veteran trikzlane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Mereki
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Badassville
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,530

    Default

    thanks heaps matt, great article
    ~KEEP DRIFTING FUN~

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Name
    JR
    State
    Ponce
    Location
    JD
    Country
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Could it work for a Mr2 tacho??

  • #6
    Oldschool Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Name
    Ben
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Oakleigh
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    222

    Default

    would this work for adm ae86 as well?

  • #7
    Senior Member DR86FT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Kaan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Emerald
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    595

    Default

    any info for the digi dash?

  • #8
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,888

    Default

    Nope, never played with one. Not to say it cant be done, but I would need to look at one and fuck with it, Might be unsuccessful. Just open it up and if it has a similar circuit board to the analogue ones then you could possibly work it out.






  • #9
    Wheel Whore JDMWheels's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Name
    Daniel
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney North
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    302

    Default

    Very Cool Matt!

    Wish i was a little bit more proficient on the electrical side of things.. will keep this bookmarked for when my motor goes in.

  • #10
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,888

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Haha, Im not doing this according to electrical theory. I did my mod based on the ae86 mod info that I found. I related it to the circuitry architecture in the 71 tacho, and worked out what to do by comparing them and the resistor values. I followed and described the circuits and saw how they differed, then was able to select a few values based on the ae86 mod, and it worked. Not rocket science, and from an electrical theory point of view, I cant explain myself, but there really is no substitute for just giving stuff a go. Considering how simple it really is, its kinda shame on all the electrical genius types that assured me its possible and failed at it without ever having actually worked out how to do it. I cannot see why a decent auto wiring guru would let a car leave his sight with this unfinished.






  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. i wanna mod my ae71
      By ke.slider in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 28
      Last Post: 8th July 2010, 03:38 AM
    2. Adaptronic - tacho mod?
      By Jonny Rochester in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 14th December 2009, 11:40 AM
    3. HOW TO: mod ae86 tacho to run with a/m ecu
      By dr1ft-pig in forum Technical - Articles
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 26th March 2009, 11:40 AM
    4. AE71 ignition problem
      By AE71_Rolla in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 21st January 2008, 07:40 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •