Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 4age timing

  1. #1
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default 4age timing


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Finally got my car stated after the conversion but I have a few problems.

    I can't get the timing to 10 degrees base (with the bridge in place). I can only get about 2 or 16 degrees, this is buy skipping a tooth on the dizzy.

    I am guessing its because my head and block have been decked when it was rebuilt and that has put the cams out a bit, therefore my dizzy is out and I can't get the timing right.

    I haven't got adjustable cam gears yet....I don't know where to get them apart from techno T3 and that would cost heaps.

    Is there anyway to fix this?

  • #2
    Senior Member adam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Adam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    208

    Default

    I had a similar problem on my motor a while back (standard motor), the timing was really advanced or retarded. Could never get it on 10 degrees. It turned out to be the intake cam shaft being a tooth out.

    I would say double check everything's where it's supposed to be.

  • #3
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Cams should be fine, they are both lined up to the marks when the engine is on TDC.

  • #4
    Veteran Rice86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Richard
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Liverpool
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    can u really trust them marks?...
    dose

  • #5
    Oldschool Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Name
    Roy
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Bris
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Just whack it on 16, don't worry about 10. Mine runs at roughly 16-17, no pinging whatsoever, no matter what fuel.

  • #6
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dave
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rice86 View Post
    can u really trust them marks?...
    er...yes?

    what other suggestions do you have....?

    mr toyota didnt put them there for no reason, and they arent wrong.

    as for the timing, have you bridged the diagnostic port terminals that your supposed to bridge when changing ignition timing?

    i just learnt recently (from another thread a few up in the list) that when you bridge the terminals it gets rid of all timing advance from the ecu, and it allows the engine to run with the base timing.

    it appears that without these terminals it the timing will be around 15 degrees. but once you bridge the terminals it will drop to around 10 degress and this is the timing you need to set. so i guess for some reason at idle the ecu is putting in about 5 degrees of advancement at idle.

    so as others have stated 15/16 degrees is fine. i adjusted my timing yesterday (bigport with a jap ecu) and didnt bridge the terminals, and the most retarded i could get it was the same as you at around 15/16 degrees, and it runs great

    good luck

  • #7
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default

    so I left it at 15 degrees and it seems fine when we just free rev it. The problem is that it hesitates when the engine is put on load i.e. driving

    Does anyone know what could be causing this?

  • #8
    Senior Member adam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Adam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    208

    Default

    When you put your foot down, does it take about a second or so for the car to react? It seems 'sluggish'?

    My guess would be throttle position sensor.

    Edit: Just turn the sensor a little each time and go for a drive. Keep turning until it feels right.

    The Toyota user manual has a guide how to do this with a multimeter, but I found that the range the resistance they had listed was way too wide to work with. Trial and error is best in my opinion.
    Last edited by adam; 26th February 2009 at 08:30 PM.

  • #9
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Yeah it does seem slugish, takes a sec or two to respond.

    Thanks for your advise, ill try it after work.

  • #10
    Senior Member KE70's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Alek
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lalor
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    150

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    TPS is stuffed, the resistance moves by itself.

  • Similar Threads

    1. 4age Dizzy timing.
      By camkore in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 27th December 2012, 11:49 PM
    2. 4AGE Timing covers
      By Shitbox in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 7th May 2011, 06:00 PM
    3. what the timing for a 4age
      By wntdae86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 30th August 2010, 11:46 PM
    4. 4age bigport timing
      By ae71ness in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 7th August 2010, 01:19 AM
    5. timing for 4age
      By ae86ln in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 3rd August 2009, 12:15 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •