Thread: Few 4AGE bigport questions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Bad Email Address

Default Few 4AGE bigport questions

Hey all, Just picked up my KE and only ever owning nissans and mazdas im a bit of a noob with the toyotas... anyhow

1. my Ke70 is running a bigport 16v 4AGE apparently with an ADM loom and ECU. It feels as if it has a flat spot. I want to check the timing but cant find the diagnostic port in the loom to bridge the terminals. CAn someone post up a photo of what it looks like???

2. I also have a JDM ECU, if i plug this in will it give me any advantage over the ADM one?

3. Have a cold start issue. Ive been told the throttle bodies are meant to have coolant running thru them and that there is a vaccum line in the throttle to help bring up the revs at first start. On mine there are what looks like coolant lines blocked off and loose vac lines everywhere. Could someone also post up a close up few pics of how a stock intake maifold should look . Just wanna know where everything goes so it can run as best as possible.

Many thanks in advance

Isaac

Veteran
    Name
    Dave
    State
    QLD
    Country
    Australia

hey man, alrighty..

1: i just changed the timing on my bigport and my loom doensnt actually have a diag port, i changed it....and its working fine. so just check it anyway. does anyone know what the diag port bridging actually does?

2: jdm ecu has a much nicer tune, 96kw as opposed to 86kw? you need to run high octane fuel because it advances the timing a fair bit more than a ausi computer. and im told you just plug them straight in. im told you should plug in the speed sensor or the jap ecus run a tad rich. my bigport has a jap ecu and has no speed sensor (yet) and seems to run quite well though.