Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 4age into a sprinter

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Scott
    State
    QLD
    Location
    South Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    46

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    putting a fwd 4age into my sprinter soon

    I need info on the wiring side of this project.
    What can i use from the the original loom and what need replacing( i see the fuse box in the engine bay has hte efi stuff there..does this mean that wiring is there??or do i need to add it to to plug)

    Im getting an Aw11 mr2 loom , should this be all the wiring i need, also some plugs are missing off it .. can i get these from an auto electrician>?? plugs missing are the COR N1 and the one that connects to the fuse box

    any guidance , help or websites would be muchly apprieciated!!!!!

  • #2
    Bad Email Address
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,522

    Default

    http://toymods.org.au/Repository/TechDocs/...ook/elec_wring/

    not sure if that will be of any help or not bro...

    cant wait till u get this running.....look forward to cruzing with ya..

  • #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    John
    State
    sa
    Location
    victor harbor
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    69

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Jason
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Broadbeach
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    398

    Default

    the wiring for the efi is already in the fuse box, all u will need for there is a relay. Just get it off any toyota. It is M4.

    A wiring loom needs to be made up to run across from the ignition to the computer. So long as everthing in the loom plugs in all should be sweet.

    Depending on your location there are a couple of people that would be able to do this.

  • #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Scott
    State
    QLD
    Location
    South Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    46

    Default

    sweet
    thanks guys (ive already found those sites but cheers ne ways)
    so i wont have to add any new loom in the engine bay>> just the cabin

    im living in brisbane but doing the conversion in Lismore coz my dad has a shed..
    is there any one around Lismore who is keen do do some wiring...hehe

    just got the AW11 MR2 and the and the AE86 4age ECU pin identifacation. Quiet a few differences when when you compare each pin..Should be able to work them out .

  • #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Scott
    State
    QLD
    Location
    South Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Just read a heap out of Max Ellery's engine manual
    makin a lot more sense now

    >>Still a few things im uncertain about:

    >>will ahve to remove the sprinter loom, add new wires then put the loom back in ...or will i be able add new wires with the loom intact?

    >>Does any one have an ECU pin diagram for the 4ac ECU so i can compare them to the coloured wires of the new 4age ECU

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Jason
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Broadbeach
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    398

    Default

    I'm not exactly to sure what ur saying there, but the loom that is in the car (4ac) does not need to be pulled out the car and rewired.

    I can get Sam's no. for you if u like just pm me. He might be interested, or might not as he lives in Brisbane. He wired up my car and everthing is great.

  • #8
    Senior Member riceburner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    James
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melbourne
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    649

    Default

    Originally posted by race4ages@Jun 2 2005, 02:12 PM
    ?

    >>Does any one have an ECU pin diagram for the 4ac ECU so i can compare them to the coloured wires of the new 4age ECU

    Um dude you should not be under going this conversion without some serious help and/or guidence
    4AC dont have ecu's their carby motors.
    Insert witty comment here....

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Paul
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    212

    Wink


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    You can leave the 4ac loom in the engine bay. That shits there for stuff like water temp, oil pressure, reverse lights etc.

    Just plug everything you can into the engine and then run the loom through the bung in firewall and plug the ECU in. All you should really need to do is then hook up a 12v source to the ecu for power. Cant remember the pins but you'll need 2 need switched and 1 pin needs a constant. Make sure all the earths are good and that the ingnitor has 12v and kick it in the guts. I'm sure theres a few things ive missed but its not too hard if you have a bit of knowledge about electronics.

    I wired up my 4age myself with both the standard ECU and the Microtech. Both times there were a couple of little problems, but just little things you miss. Don't forget you will also need to wire up the alternator. Do a search on Toymods, theres a thread there telling you what colour goes into the standard loom.

  • Similar Threads

    1. AE86 SPRINTER 4AGE
      By wesso in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 22nd January 2013, 06:39 PM
    2. Sprinter with 4AGE QLD
      By Poobrown86 in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 10th February 2009, 10:43 AM
    3. ADM 4age sprinter
      By Grommet in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 37
      Last Post: 9th January 2008, 08:53 PM
    4. 4AGE into an aussie sprinter
      By ATXBoy in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 3rd November 2005, 06:09 PM
    5. sprinter with 4age
      By federal in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 22nd May 2005, 11:14 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •