Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 3 and 4 wire distributers

  1. #1
    Senior Member --Redwork--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Jason
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Nundah
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    954

    Default 3 and 4 wire distributers


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Ok guys...
    I need a 4 wire distributer.... What are they out of and who has one.????
    I'm assuming the 4 wire is small port as I have a bigport and its only 3 wires.... Anyone confirm.?
    I also understand they are interchangable.. Is this correct.?

    Needed Asap.. (before monday if possible)


    Cheers guys...

  • #2
    Senior Member Sprinter86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nathan
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lilydale
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    yep, as u guessed, bigport 3 wire, smallport 4 wire. and yes they are interchangable.

    hope this helps!

  • #3
    Senior Member --Redwork--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Jason
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Nundah
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    954

    Default

    Cool, that clears up what it is that it is that I am after...

    Soooooo who's got one they wanna get ride of...

  • #4
    Oldschool Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Name
    Roy
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Bris
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Not interchangeable.

    Smallport has two ignition pick-ups and bigport only has one. Both have the same ammount of injector pick-ups, but ignition is different. I tried this when my bigport dizzy fried, it ran with the smallport, but horribly, couldn't set timing, would stall, wouldn't rev over 5 and when it did the car would die and wouldn't start.

    As said in your wanted to buy. I have a smallport dizzy complete, brand new cap, decent leads, rotor button, but you will have to change the plug on the loom side to a 4-pin connector and it's missing one of the fixing brackets. I have all the the connectors and plugs here if you're desperate.

    So you originally had a bigport? So you will need a bigport, I don't have one of those as it's in my car. I have the old bigport set-up, but the ignition pick is fried.

    I was told they were interchangeable aswell, but from my experience they are definately not.
    Last edited by Dish; 14th March 2009 at 11:41 AM.

  • #5
    Senior Member Sprinter86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nathan
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lilydale
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    i think he means do both dizzy types fit into a bigport head.

    he is running aftermarket ecu and needs the two pickup signals.

    obviously you woulnt run a bigport dizzy with smallport ecu or vice versa.

  • #6
    Oldschool Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Name
    Roy
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Bris
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Ahh ok, fair enough. I thought he was talking about standard ecu.

  • #7
    Senior Member --Redwork--'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Jason
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Nundah
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    954

    Default

    Correct...
    My microtech requires a 4 wire dissy to function correctly....
    Just wanted to know if they were interchangable phisically.

  • #8
    Senior Member hilux05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Richie
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    181

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    dont know about yours motor's but for the last year before i pulled the 4age out i was running a smallport dizzy (4 wire) on my bigport with the standard comp, never had any dramas or probs.. apart from running rich, like they all do.. we just connected the two red wires together and the other two as per usual..

  • Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 6
      Last Post: 5th September 2010, 09:38 AM
    2. 1 wire or 2 wire o2 sensor?
      By Clinton in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 20th November 2009, 08:27 PM
    3. tacho wire
      By deanoo in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 16th June 2007, 06:19 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •