Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: KE70 Build

Oldschool Member

Hey there Guys,
    I have been lurking around here for a little while so I thought that I should post up and say hello. I am more into sprints and hill climbs than drift but there is still alot of great information on this forum. By way of introduction I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade and have been playing with cars for longer than some of the members here have been alive (I am in my 30's) I have decided that I wanted to build a budget race car and get back to basics instead of letting the credit card do it all. My last race car was a Turbo MX5 Clubman with 175rwkw. At the moment I am getting around the track in an old KE55 but I have bought a KE70 to build up. It is not going to be a pig but it will be getting a coat of paint and a tidy up. I am pretty happy with it. Rebuilt engine and working AC for $200. It is very straight but has some rust in the rear boot area that I will have to fix up before I do anything else. I have got some 14" rims that are on the white sigma to put on the KE70 along with a 32/36 weber that is allready on the KE55. I am gonig to stay with the old 4K for a while and see how it all goes. I have a couple of GT17 turbos here of SAAB's that would go fairly well on the 4K I would think. I guess that is about it. I will keep the pictures and udates going as I move through the build. I am hoping to have it all done by easter.

Cheers
    Paul

Oldschool Member
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    Queensland
    Country
    Australia

Wow, that thing is mint for $200. Nice find!

Veteran
    Name
    Aaron
    State
    TAS
    Country
    Australia

mate 4K=slow
    4K+turbo=stares and laughs

if your into hill climbs and that sort of thing then you do need a bit of pull but as a daily a 4K with a carb and 5speed box would be alright..

edit: they all have rust in the rear boot area, particualy the archs..

Oldschool Member