Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: bigport or smallport

  1. #1
    Veteran maxhag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    JoJo
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Tuggeranong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,789

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    hey guys,
    i thought i knew but now i am confused...

    How do i tell a bigport from a smallport?

    thanks,
    J

  • #2

  • #3
    Bad Email Address
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Bigports have TVIS, smallports don't, that should be the easiest way to tell.

    Bigports should have a smooth plenum top, and the smallports have ribs on them like a heatsink.
    If the manifolds have been changed this will not work of course, but you can also tell from the cooling system setups.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    Kane
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Coburg
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    785

    Default

    as andy said^
    or
    if its apart check the port sizes

  • #5
    Veteran maxhag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    JoJo
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Tuggeranong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    can i put a manifold off a bigport on a smallport?


  • #6
    Veteran maxhag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    JoJo
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Tuggeranong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    inlet that is.
    I know the exhausts are interchangable..

    can you get a 100kw motor in big or small port? I thought it was only bigport but someone told me differant and confused me.....

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    Kane
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Coburg
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    785

    Default

    can i put a manifold off a bigport on a smallport?[/b]
    you can buy an adaptor for about 200

  • #8
    Veteran driftism's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Watsoia
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,006

    Default

    the 100kw motor from the factory was a smallport.

    the bigports came in 2 main variants:
    JDM 96kw
    ADM 86kw

    you can fit a bigport inlet manifold to a smallport with a T3 adaptor plate
    http://www.technotoytuning.com/productdetail.php?p=374

    hope that helps.

  • #9
    Bad Email Address
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    636

    Default

    smallport has oil drain pipe at the back of the head

  • #10
    Bad Email Address
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    100

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    WAT JDM BIG PORT HAS 96kw??? u sure ???

  • Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Bigport or smallport cams
      By DearmanKE in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 13th April 2010, 11:30 AM
    2. Bigport or smallport?
      By dunga70 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 9th April 2010, 05:41 PM
    3. smallport bigport?
      By 86TRD in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 30th July 2009, 04:00 PM
    4. bigport or smallport
      By .ady in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 57
      Last Post: 26th April 2009, 09:57 PM
    5. Can I use my Bigport loom on a Smallport?
      By jet111 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 3rd March 2009, 07:24 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •