Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: vvti on 20v how does it work

  1. #1
    Veteran FAST EDDIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Eddie
    State
    SA
    Location
    sa
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,193

    Default vvti on 20v how does it work


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    so im gunna be running microleb on my 20v only because its the best ever ecu made!!!!!!!

    anyway im guessing the little solenoid on the exhaust side of the head is the switch for the vvti am i correct? if not how is it triggered and wtf is that thing?????
    AE86 THE BEST

  • #2
    Veteran Jonny Rochester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Jonathan
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Hobart
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,654

    Default

    Yes, that is it. The solenoid controls oil pressure to the intake cam gear. You just want the ECU to switch it on at a certain rpm for high rpm, and turn it off for low rpm, in the simplest setup.

  • #3
    Veteran FAST EDDIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Eddie
    State
    SA
    Location
    sa
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,193

    Default

    excellent any idea how t works wiring style?
    AE86 THE BEST

  • #4
    Veteran Jonny Rochester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Jonathan
    State
    TAS
    Location
    Hobart
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,654

    Default

    Well, it would click on and off with 12volts I am sure. And it should be powered by a relay I guess. And if your Microtech has a way of switching it, it would be negative switching. The ECU switches by earthing the wire out, not by supplying power.

  • #5
    Veteran FAST EDDIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Eddie
    State
    SA
    Location
    sa
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,193

    Default

    yah neg switched outputs ill check it out just lying in bed being lazy tody
    AE86 THE BEST

  • #6
    Senior Member Sprinter86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nathan
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Lilydale
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    691

    Default

    Remember, its VVT not VVTI
    will also be running a microleb on my 20vt, and i think from what ive read you will need to use 2 outputs from the microleb, one to turn the solinoid on (at AROUND 4k rpm? others with know more on best rpm for this stuff) and then the other output to turn it back off again at a higher rpm(not sure exactly what rpm, random guess of 6kish?) apparently this is how it works from factory, and from what ive read, is the best way to use it.

    hope this helps!
    nath

  • #7
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,234

    Default

    as above VVT, how it is controlled is determined as per one simple ecu related factor. If the ecu can have the controls to turn the output on then off again then you just use a single output to run a relay as Jonny wisely said. If I personally had a Wolf V500 I would do this however I have a wolf V4 and it can only switch at a pre-selected revs. So that brings me to the second option; have a primary relay that switches VVT on and then a secondary relay that cuts the first one, with an ecu output for each. So you need atleast 2 outputs if your ecu isnt that advanced, this means you cant use a Wolf 3D not that you would want an old piece of shit like that.

    Whats the model of your ecu, I will look up the manual what it can do.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #8
    Senior Member Anthony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Anthony
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    831

    Default

    surely the best ecu in the world can switch an output on AND off??

    yeah im pretty sure you'll need to use two outputs as above. some microtechs dont have enough outputs to do this though so depends what you have. best rpm points are around 2500 and 6000.

  • #9
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,234

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    hahahahaha, yeah a modern day ecu and it still cant read the signal of a common magnetic pickup on my crank angle sensor, what a joke.

    Oh forgot to mention this is obvious but to find the right points to switch do a dyno graph with and without the VVT solenoid on then just pick the best points. It was unsually late for mine at 6400 but hey every custom engine responds different.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • Similar Threads

    1. TRD inlet suit vvti or no vvti BEAMS
      By Celica RA45 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 29th May 2011, 04:33 PM
    2. blk top 20v vvti
      By Rich_86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 34
      Last Post: 28th December 2007, 06:37 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •