Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: GZE Supercharger randomly not boosting

  1. #1
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Joel
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Picton
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,042

    Default GZE Supercharger randomly not boosting


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    ive got a mates AE92 with a GZE in it ATM, took it for a spin and the supercharger isnt boosting, if u back off them smash the throttle it will then sometimes boost, is that something that fails with them? i know their clutch driven but it just seems strange that it randomly engages and most of the time doesnt, but only if u back off then floor it?.. any one had an issue with this before

  • #2
    Senior Member Roo.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    131

    Default

    its on a magantic clutch, control by the ecu, maybe try wiring it to ignition and if it working correctly it should be boosting all the time

  • #3
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Joel
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Picton
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,042

    Default

    just got some info off the net so im gonna see what i can work out... cheers Roo

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Peter
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Kellyville
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    139

    Default boost issue

    check you have not popped a hose / clamp

  • #5
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Joel
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Picton
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,042

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hinricp View Post
    check you have not popped a hose / clamp
    Nah wouldn't be that if it was it would consistantly be off boost

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sameul
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Bulleen
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    973

    Default

    check your TPS plug, if its loose it will not get a popper connection and the ecu will go into like a safe mode where the ecu wont let the car boost...

  • #7
    Senior Member Sprinterboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Justin
    State
    DC
    Location
    Downtown
    Country
    USA
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Samuel hit the nail on the head. Kinda

    I had a similar drama with mine when it was still SC12. First i re wired the clutch to a different switch. didn't fix it.

    re tightened the Belt (as this will cause a loss in boost if lose)

    Then play with the TPS. I've found that the AFM tends to play up, spring gets lose, flap doesn't open properly. No picking up Full/open throttle correctly.

    Also try the ABV, I did but again it wasn't the cause of my problems, it was the TPS

  • #8
    Gone
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Joel
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Picton
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,042

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprinterboy View Post
    Samuel hit the nail on the head. Kinda

    I had a similar drama with mine when it was still SC12. First i re wired the clutch to a different switch. didn't fix it.

    re tightened the Belt (as this will cause a loss in boost if lose)

    Then play with the TPS. I've found that the AFM tends to play up, spring gets lose, flap doesn't open properly. No picking up Full/open throttle correctly.

    Also try the ABV, I did but again it wasn't the cause of my problems, it was the TPS
    cheers sprinterboy! was thinking of earthing out the coil winding for the magnet so it has power all the time and see if that works, if it does then its some switching issue,

    as for the belt slipping i found a kik ass article and if the belt is slipping u should loose about 3-4 psi, but it wont be that becasue it doesnt reflect whats happening when u stomp on the gas.. u would think the belt would still slip..

    its got a Nevo pully kit on it so im gonna check if the ABV has been bi-passed.

    then next the AFM and TPS.. freaken TPS

  • #9
    Senior Member Sprinterboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Justin
    State
    DC
    Location
    Downtown
    Country
    USA
    Posts
    723

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    No worries, It'll be the TPS for sure. AFM = SUCK!

  • Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 7
      Last Post: 19th March 2013, 05:46 PM
    2. gze supercharger set up
      By moreno180 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 29th August 2010, 02:30 PM
    3. Can you use fully Synthetic oil in GZE supercharger ?
      By kravit in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 24th February 2008, 07:48 PM
    4. Safe RPM for 1G-GZE supercharger
      By RolandGTV85 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 25th May 2006, 07:43 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •