Thread: shitty 4k carburetor tuning

Name
    Mat
    State
    WA
    Country
    Australia

Default shitty 4k carburetor tuning

I work as a pizza delivery driver so i stop and start my car alot. When ever i turn off my ke70 and go in the store for 3 min then come back out to start it when its hot, it takes ages to start. most times its like it floods straight away i keep turning it over then slowly apply accelerator till it fires up. It hardly ever fires first turn over if its been longer than 1min. My car always runs better when the choke is halfway out, if the chokes in the acceleration flat spots and theres less power. So i think it runs a bit rich the exhaust always pops when deaccelerate but performance is really "dicky" for engine temp vs air temp

So the question is: Is this what most shitty 4ks do and will leaning the fuel mixture make it better, whats youre experience with 4k carburetors?

Where abouts is the fuel mixture screw and does anyone have a 4k carburetor diagram?

also one of vacuum pipes has been blocked its probly not needed but is there like a hot start thingo

any help appreciated thanks

inb4 get a 4age
    if u cant find it grind it

Name
    Jonathan
    State
    TAS
    Country
    Australia

The carby and vac hoses together compose about 10 different systems, any of which could be your problem.

If you have no knowledge of all the different systems, you can buy a can of 'stuff' to spray in every dirrection and it may work. Try carby cleaner as a start, then move through your Dads collection, but stop short of painting it red.

Replace any vac hose that is cracked. Block off any vac hose that goes no where.

Replace the points.

Name
    Jonathan
    State
    TAS
    Country
    Australia

If you always need the choke, maybe a air leak somewhere. If not a cracked hose, its the manifold gaskets.

Name
    Vlad
    State
    Sacred Valley
    Country
    Peru