Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ke70 brake lines and hydraulic handbrake install questions

  1. #1
    Senior Member Sprinter Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    600

    Default ke70 brake lines and hydraulic handbrake install questions


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    CAR - ke70
    MOTOR - 4age
    USE - drift car
    QUESTION - what size are ke70 brake lines?

    Hey guys,

    Im installing a hydraulic handbrake soon and need to know what size the brake line that runs to the rear of the car is?

    Also does anyone know of any write up on a hyro instal? Would be good to see where everyone is positioning there handbrakes and how they plumb theres in.

    Am thinking of cutting a section out of the brake line just near the normal handbrake, flaring each end of the lines and putting brake fittings on each end then running two braided lines to the handbrake. Does that sounds like the right way to go about it? Would be good to get some input from some people who have done it before.


    cheers

    ryan

  • #2
    Senior Member Sprinter Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    600

    Default

    pretty much like this photo, except forget the rear left bit about the oe handbrake removal

  • #3
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    Might be a good idea to grab some verniers and measure whatever is on your car?

    I completely replaced the lines from the hydro to the rear calipers with braided line on my car. I made up a shorter hardline to go from the master cylinder to the hydro.
    The hydro bracket is mounted on a plate which mounts where the stock handbrake lever is mounted.

  • #4
    Senior Member Sprinter Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    600

    Default

    oh and im thinking of installing a willwood brake bias adjuster aswell, the inlet and outelt for the adjuster is 1/8 inch, im assuming you can get an adapter to make it the same size as the ke70 brake line fittings?

  • #5
    Senior Member Sprinter Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    600

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by meadan View Post
    Might be a good idea to grab some verniers and measure whatever is on your car?

    I completely replaced the lines from the hydro to the rear calipers with braided line on my car. I made up a shorter hardline to go from the master cylinder to the hydro.
    The hydro bracket is mounted on a plate which mounts where the stock handbrake lever is mounted.
    thanks for your reply. yea could do that but would have to get a set of vernier calipers, was hoping someone on here would know. They look about 5-6mm in size. i would put the hydro in the factory position but i still need the standard handbrake as well as i don't trust the hydro to use when the car is parked. was thinking of mounting it on the gearbox tunnel next to the gear leaver.

  • #6
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    there 10mm fittings that you would use, your idea of how to run it is fine, you have a JDM t series???? unless you have fucked around with your handbrake cables the standard handbrake is shit, prefer hydro that locks on for parking etcetc, it wil hold as good as cables

    and dont beleive when people say, it will bleed off pressure over time, thats fucking stupid

  • #7
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    Honestly, unless youre replacing the stock handbrake, i dont think a hydro is at all necessary. But Ive seen your build thread and im not here to judge...

    Almost all rear end brake setups can be made to lock up ok for drifting though.

    Im pretty sure my brake lines were all -3, so 3/16" hardline sounds about right.

  • #8
    Hair model Jacobxxx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Jacob
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Bangalow
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    6,962

    Default

    I don't see the need to hydro?

  • #9
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    just leave it in gear, I lost my handbrake button when I pulled it out for a track day and even on hills just left it in gear.
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • #10
    Senior Member Sprinter Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    600

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Quote Originally Posted by lolwat View Post
    there 10mm fittings that you would use, your idea of how to run it is fine, you have a JDM t series???? unless you have fucked around with your handbrake cables the standard handbrake is shit, prefer hydro that locks on for parking etcetc, it wil hold as good as cables

    and dont beleive when people say, it will bleed off pressure over time, thats fucking stupid
    yea ive got a jdm t series, yea have read on a few places that hydros can de pressurise overtime don't see how that possible with out it leaking.

    Quote Originally Posted by meadan View Post
    Honestly, unless youre replacing the stock handbrake, i dont think a hydro is at all necessary. But Ive seen your build thread and im not here to judge...

    Almost all rear end brake setups can be made to lock up ok for drifting though.

    Im pretty sure my brake lines were all -3, so 3/16" hardline sounds about right.
    yea thinking about it now they're isn't much point keeping the standard handbrake, as long as i have a way of locking the hydro on for parking should be fine to use all the time. as for installing a hydro, its just one of those things i've wanted ever since i got the car and thought why not. yea i think your right about the size, tested the flaring tool clamp i got on the lines and 3/16" fitted perfect.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacobxxx View Post
    I don't see the need to hydro?
    no real need just want one.

  • Similar Threads

    1. Hydraulic handbrake???
      By Ksevn-T in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 1st May 2009, 03:29 PM
    2. hydraulic handbrake?
      By 70wagon in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 13th February 2009, 01:13 AM
    3. Hydraulic Handbrake .??
      By syco86 in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 31st March 2008, 07:01 PM
    4. Hydraulic Handbrake
      By -=GOODY=- in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 6th January 2008, 07:03 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •