Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: charging issue with my drift car running 15.5volts

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    shaun
    State
    nsw
    Location
    port macquarie
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    411

    Default charging issue with my drift car running 15.5volts


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi guys

    ive got an ae86 drift car with an sr20det in it i noticed the other day that when the car is running it was producing 15.5volts so thought ok alternator was in need of replacing so i got a second hand one fitted it same deal. so i thought unlucky got a dud one. borrowed a mates one off his car that im 100% works fitted it up and still dose the same thing??????

    now i was told that i need to have a battery light in there for it to work right??? is this correct and if so how do i hook it up and to which wire off the alternator dose it go to??? thanks for the help

  • #2
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Generally yes you need the charge light hooked up.

  • #3
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Yep - hook up the charge light... otherwise the regulator isnt getting a voltage reference and will give full output.
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    shaun
    State
    nsw
    Location
    port macquarie
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the witzl View Post
    Yep - hook up the charge light... otherwise the regulator isnt getting a voltage reference and will give full output.
    yeah i get i need it but how do i hook one up as i have a full alloy dash in the car do i just use a pilot light and put it in line with one of the alternator wires?????

    sorry for the dumb arse question but only have a week to fix it before next round

  • #5
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Run a new light somewhere.... 12v ignition to one side and the alternator pin is effectively the earth.

  • #6
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default

    what Matt said.
    Ign 12V+ to one side of the light, and the other side (earth) goes to the charge light pin on the alternator.
    When the alternator isnt working, the charge light pin pulls to earth and the charge light illuminates on your dash.
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • #7
    Senior Member pt_y2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Name
    Paul
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    301

    Default

    Nissan alts also have a "S" terminal,its a battery voltage sense wire,ya sure tis is connected? in the small 2pin plug on the alt the heavy wire(normally white) should have 12v at it when not connected to the alternator...

  • #8
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Yep, if the nissan alternators have that "S" pin, it MUST be wired to battery positive terminal via a fuse. If not connected, this could also explain the high output voltage.
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Name
    shaun
    State
    nsw
    Location
    port macquarie
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Got it sorted guys thanks heaps turns out it was wired backwards from old owner. Now it charging at 14.3 volts. Only issue now battery light is always on???? Do I need a resistor or something in line??? Thanks again guys

  • #10
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Is it an LED or normal globe?

    If LED you may need to run a resistor..

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. car running too cold what the hell
      By slider4life in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 47
      Last Post: 17th June 2010, 10:01 PM
    2. 4K-C idle and running issue.
      By AE86 Spoontah in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 16
      Last Post: 14th June 2010, 09:05 PM
    3. what tyre is your car running?
      By Rob in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 214
      Last Post: 27th September 2008, 08:36 AM
    4. get my car running sale
      By fozz in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 4th August 2008, 04:26 PM
    5. get my car running!
      By jono86 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 21st January 2008, 11:08 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •