Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ae86 ecu upgrading

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Name
    kieran
    State
    nsw
    Location
    adamstown heights
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    34

    Default ae86 ecu upgrading


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    hey guys, ive just bought an ae86 with a smallport, and theres some wiring problem with it that i cant be bothered fixing, and seen as how im gonna get a new ecu anyway, i figure instead of fixing the problem ill just do it now, my question is what ecu to go with? theres a few around, i was considering an adaptronic or microtech but i dont know alot about the subject so i was just wandering what everyone else thinks, the motor has 272" cams and adj cam gears, also quad throttle bodies off a 20v and i intend to stay n/a and just mod the motor that way

  • #2
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Easiest option is to email sales@kaizengarage.com and get an adaptronic ecu and loom that is effectively plug and play.

    The other alternatives that I'd consider are haltech, and motec.

  • #3
    Veteran blake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Name
    Blake
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Penrith
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    I say haltec. I currently have a sprint 500 on my smallport. It was cheap and I haven't had any problems. And illl always stick with them.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunner View Post
    Id explain more but there people on here I dont like, and i want to see this shit on thsir supposedly awesome masterfully built but stock power making 20v
    bursting ovaries since 92'

  • #4
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Adaptronic all the way.... especially given how easy Kaizen makes installing them.
    They have more inputs/outputs, more flexible control, better maps, etc etc.....

    In reality, a lot of it comes down to tuning. Find your preferred tuner, and ask what they prefer to work with.

    Also - with your ITBs you are going to want a vacuum manifold to "smooth" out the vacuum signal to the ECU.
    Something like this:
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/VACUUM-MA...item56483f5f03
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • #5
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Yeah everyone has a soft spot for a particular ecu, but to be completely honest these days they all will run an engine in their sleep, but ultimately to me it now comes down to price vs ease to install / tune vs cost.

    Having said that my car is going to run a haltech sports 1000, but that is because my tuner mostly deals with them.

  • #6
    Senior Member JDM-086's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dario
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melb
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    509

    Default

    +1 for haltech. highly rated and recommended.
    microtech has no idle control, something to consider (haltech does, not sure about the adaptronic)

  • #7
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Adaptronic can do just about whatever..... many many inputs and outputs. I'm running an Adaptronic e420c on my 18RG turbo, and just now reading through the manual to get my head around configuring it...... and there is more here than i will ever use!!

    Idle control = yes. Can even configure inputs to trigger an increase in idle, eg, turning on your headlights, running aircon, etc.

    Honestly i think the adaptronic is the best bang for buck in terms of features.
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • #8
    Senior Member JDM-086's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dario
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melb
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    509

    Default

    work out who will tune it, and ask them what they prefer. no point getting an ecu that no one can tune for you.
    The guy that will tune my 4AGE only uses haltech on all his 4age's so it just makes sense that i'd get a haltech.
    Both haltech and adaptronic are great units with a bunch of features, the above will most likely determine which you get.

  • #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Name
    kieran
    State
    nsw
    Location
    adamstown heights
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    34

    Default

    thanks for the suggestions everyone, im probably just gonna go kaizen garage and see what i can get from them, just for ease of installation

  • #10
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    mention you are from here and he will look after you...

  • Similar Threads

    1. [WA] Toyota 4AGZE pistons $150 (Ideal for upgrading 4age to be turbo ready)
      By Ghetto-Spec .:bayka:. in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 17th September 2012, 07:31 AM
    2. ADL: 4age loom and ae86 Jap ecu and Aus ecu
      By rke_011 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 24th October 2011, 07:14 PM
    3. upgrading stand ae86 lights
      By deafkid in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 23
      Last Post: 1st May 2009, 11:54 AM
    4. upgrading to a more modern car.
      By RolandGTV85 in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 99
      Last Post: 6th March 2009, 10:05 AM
    5. Upgrading fuel lines...
      By adsrx in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 31st October 2005, 11:27 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •