Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Vacuum lines for ITBs

  1. #1
    Veteran Rice86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Richard
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Liverpool
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,853

    Default Vacuum lines for ITBs


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    car- ae86
    engine - 16 4age

    is it possible to just use air lines with T piece joints etc; to rig it all up so it all connects and points air to the correct location? such as brake booster and MAP sensor.. i think thats the only 2 things that require air right?..

    do i need to calculate air volume? or will the above idea be enough to provide air to booster and map sensor?

    thoughts on this?
    dose

  • #2
    Senior Member JDM-086's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dario
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Melb
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    510

    Default

    i know a lot of people with say its a good idea to run one of those vac boxes to give a nice consistent reading.
    im not 100% sure but there may be issues with air to the booster if you have high duration/lift cams and high comp? but again i'm in no way the authority on this kind of thing, infact i've been trying to find answers to this myself so curious to see what people have to say.
    Last edited by JDM-086; 22nd August 2012 at 02:16 PM.

  • #3
    Senior Member t-nol's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Name
    Trent
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Pretty sure it'll be fine like that, and doubt you'll have to break out the calculator to get this working properly.

  • #4
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    You will probably need to run vacuum to your FPR also.

    A vacuum manifold/canister/box/whatever will make it easier to hook up the booster and map sensor, plus any other things you want to hook up to vacuum later on.
    With the 20v throttles on the 16v, youll want to take the vacuum signal from the T3 manifold and not off the stock nipples at the top of the throttles...

  • #5
    Senior Member Slimer86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Marco
    State
    SA
    Location
    North Adelaide Suburbs
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    774

    Default

    Advise having a look at a blacktop intake manifold config.
    Slotted channel connecting all throttles to a single map outlet. Brake booster is drilled and tapped into 1 & 4 after the throttle body,then both feed the booster.
    Replicate the oem setup

  • #6
    Veteran Rice86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Richard
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Liverpool
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    think i'll try to just T piece it all up and go from there..dont wanting to be drilling holes on the manifold or itbs yet lol

    hope i have time this weekend to throw it in and see if it'll run etc..
    dose

  • #7
    Member the witzl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Name
    Karl
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Hills District
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    54

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Just t piecing them all together will not work well. Listen to the advice above.
    KE70 Turbo 18R-G - Project Skid Car

  • Similar Threads

    1. 4age vacuum lines (throttlebody)
      By tc-rolla in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 30th October 2010, 03:33 PM
    2. What are these 20V vacuum lines
      By sleeperketo70 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 12th March 2010, 09:42 PM
    3. Brake Booster Vacuum Lines
      By bigm in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 18th January 2010, 10:01 PM
    4. 4AGE Vacuum Lines
      By 45aken in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 21st April 2009, 09:34 AM
    5. 4ac carby vacuum lines
      By skit in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 17th April 2008, 09:16 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •