Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ae71 4 speed auto behind 4age won't select gear

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Name
    Ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    New Berrima
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default Ae71 4 speed auto behind 4age won't select gear


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hey guys

    Iv converted a small port with twin webers into my 91 Suzuki Sierra 4x4
    With a 4 speed auto from my ae71
    I'm running a silver top fly wheel to suit 8 bolt crank

    No the issue is today I started it up for the 1st time and tried to drive.......nothing

    It's full of fluids and shifter is all set up.
    The gear box run like a dream in the ae71

    So why is it no longer working? Could I have mounted the toque converter wrong or somethin???

    Thanks Ryan

  • #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nigel
    State
    SA
    Location
    Other
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    250

    Default

    What gearbox are you using exactly, the ae71 box is only a 3 speed auto...

  • #3
    Veteran slide86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Huw
    State
    SA
    Location
    Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    if the torque convertor snout is not correctly located when you install it, it wont engage on the pump in the front of the transmission, and you will not actually have any line pressure to work the transmission. I found this out the hard way

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Name
    Ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    New Berrima
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    It's the box out of the ae71 what ever that is I guess 3 speed then.
    Slide86 can u please explain how to correctly fit the toque converter?

  • #5
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    it will push in, 3 stages

  • #6
    Veteran slide86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Huw
    State
    SA
    Location
    Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    so you slide the convertor onto the input shaft and start turning it gently, as you are rotating it, push in and it will locate itself on the splines. keep doing this till its all the way in.

    you should see on the snout of the converter a key way, this is what turns the pump

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Name
    Ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    New Berrima
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Okay thanks I must hav fitted wrong as I just bolted it all together with out lining it up, I'll Pull it back out and try again thanks guys

  • #8
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 7age ae86 View Post
    Hey guys

    Iv converted a small port with twin webers into my 91 Suzuki Sierra 4x4
    With a 4 speed auto from my ae71
    I'm running a silver top fly wheel to suit 8 bolt crank

    No the issue is today I started it up for the 1st time and tried to drive.......nothing

    It's full of fluids and shifter is all set up.
    The gear box run like a dream in the ae71

    So why is it no longer working? Could I have mounted the toque converter wrong or somethin???

    Thanks Ryan
    So you have an auto flex plate and the torque convertor is bolted to it right?

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Name
    Ryan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    New Berrima
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Yep auto flex plate from auto 20v to suit 8 bolt crank 4age and yes toque converter bolt to it

  • #10
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    just a quick check if the pumps getting power, pull an auto line off and run it into a container and turn it over and turn it off as soon as it starts, see is there flow

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 11th September 2012, 12:38 AM
    2. 4ac auto gear box behind small port 4age problems please help
      By 7age ae86 in forum Technical - Articles
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 2nd June 2012, 09:15 PM
    3. AE71 4AGE Auto VERY NEAT
      By ozyvr4 in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 21st January 2012, 08:48 PM
    4. T50- won't engage in 5th gear and reverse, any ideas?
      By 4.5AG in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 10th March 2011, 10:58 PM
    5. FS TAS AE71 4AGE 5 SPEED with N2O
      By Prewer in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 5th September 2010, 06:59 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •