Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 4age in 71 not reaching operating temp?

  1. #1
    Veteran anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Taz
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Earlwood
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,030

    Default 4age in 71 not reaching operating temp?


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi all,

    I have a JDM bigport in my 71.

    Temp gauge works, has new genuine toyota thermostat.

    Now the gauge will move to just past the Cold line. I believe it should be around the 1st line after the C line?

    I have noticed that the bottom radiator hose is alot cooler than the top. and i was going to get the rad re cored incase it was blocked

    Does the 4ac and 4age have different operating temps which just shows as cooler on my gauge?

    Could it be the temp sender? wiring?

    let me know your thoughts/experiences

  • #2
    Veteran blake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Name
    Blake
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Penrith
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    I wouldn't trust the gauge in the dash. Mine compaired to my mates is way off yet engines are same temp.

    Bottom hose should be colder, which tells me your radiator isnt blocked.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunner View Post
    Id explain more but there people on here I dont like, and i want to see this shit on thsir supposedly awesome masterfully built but stock power making 20v
    bursting ovaries since 92'

  • #3
    Veteran anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Taz
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Earlwood
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,030

    Default

    what engines do you guys have and how did you measure engine temp?

  • #4
    Veteran slide86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Huw
    State
    SA
    Location
    Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    Bottom hose should be cooler than the top, hot water flows from top to bottom im pretty sure.

    If the rad was blocked, it would over heat not be too cold, as no coolant would actually flow through the radiator.

    I have done the same conversion but in a KE70 and the gauge went to the first line with the KE70 temp sender fitted to the upper water neck.

    You possibly just have a very efficient cooling system. Have you driven the car and monitored the gauge?

  • #5
    Veteran anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Taz
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Earlwood
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,030

    Default

    yep drove the car to canberra, and did a hillclimb with it and it would stay in that same position

    although canberra is very cold

    im using the jdm 86 temp sender in stock location, could this be an issue? sending out a different reading?

  • #6
    Veteran blake.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Name
    Blake
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Penrith
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,171

    Default

    Both 4ages, measured with my hand, put the sensor on the water neck and see how you go.
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunner View Post
    Id explain more but there people on here I dont like, and i want to see this shit on thsir supposedly awesome masterfully built but stock power making 20v
    bursting ovaries since 92'

  • #7
    Veteran anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Taz
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Earlwood
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,030

    Default

    Id rather keep the sender in the location on the outlet,

  • #8
    Veteran anastasios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Taz
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Earlwood
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,030

    Default

    could it be the clutch fan? not disengaging the fan?

  • #9
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    Get a real temp gauge before you even think about looking at anything else.

    The water temp should be around 82 degrees if you got a stock thermostat.

  • #10
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Do you have the stock AE71 cluster gauge wired to the JDM sender?
    Are the senders the same ohms?
    Could this be the issue?
    Do as meadan suggests, buy an aftermarket gauge with sender try it and see if issue persists.

  • Similar Threads

    1. Engine Operating too cool, 7A Turbo with 71 degree thermostat
      By Oly AE86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 27
      Last Post: 30th June 2011, 10:29 PM
    2. [W.A] 71 pedal box 71 tacho dash
      By Mike-86 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 7th September 2009, 06:04 PM
    3. 4age '71 (wa)
      By 4age '71 in forum Cars for Sale (Toyota Only)
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 7th January 2009, 06:52 PM
    4. Replies: 6
      Last Post: 7th November 2007, 05:10 PM
    5. optimum engine operating temp
      By ae86 slide in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 25
      Last Post: 31st October 2005, 11:40 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •