Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: gearbox bellhousing bolts torque settings?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default gearbox bellhousing bolts torque settings?


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi,
    Just bolting up an adapter to a W series, does it need to be torqued up to a certain setting?
    The bolts I took out all took about the same amount of effort and cracked as if they were torqued up is why I ask.
    Or just locktite and elbow grease.
    Ali
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 10th September 2012 at 06:25 PM.

  • #2
    Senior Member killabeez_1985's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Name
    Adam
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Mount Gravatt
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    321

    Default

    doubt there would be any importance to torque settings on bellhousing bolts. Id just say yours were done up tight

  • #3
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Adan
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Oxley Park
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,082

    Default

    If youre using toyota bolts, look at the number on the head, and then look for the toyota tightening torque guide.
    Otherwise the normal recommended torque setting for that size bolt should be fine.

    All bolts "should" be torqued correctly...

  • #4
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    I've never torqued them, firm with a 1/2 ratchet is usually what I do..

  • #5
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    1/2 rachet as tight as i can or a few seconds with ele rattle gun

  • #6
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by meadan View Post
    If youre using toyota bolts, look at the number on the head, and then look for the toyota tightening torque guide.
    Otherwise the normal recommended torque setting for that size bolt should be fine.

    All bolts "should" be torqued correctly...
    All new high tensile bolts from nut and bolt store.

    Quote Originally Posted by lolwat View Post
    1/2 rachet as tight as i can or a few seconds with ele rattle gun
    I'm always bit worried to use rattley on Bellhousing, seen 2 cases where guys have cracked them.

    Did them up with locktite tight as using 1/2" drive, and then used old torque wrench and evened out tension.
    Cheers guys, Thanks for that.
    Ali
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 10th September 2012 at 09:17 PM.

  • #7
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    Rattle gun is like a shifter, yes it can be dodgy using one, But in the end its the fuckwit who sits there smashing nuts and bolts up that controls it

    and I HATE! loctite on things like bellshousing bolts, they sit for years, there a c u next tuesday to undo, let alone when someone has covered them in loctite, its a bellhousing bolt, do it up tight DONE!

  • #8
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Word, both cases were where they had not aligned the bellhousing properly on the dowels and wound it up thinking it would even it out.

    I pulled a factory bellhousing off a different Toyota box (G52) and it had loctite in it from factory, so I just did it to that spec.
    But my full logic behind loctite is because I'm using an adapter, new nuts and bolts, none of these are factory parts, no R&D that I know of (this is a 1UZFE auto Bell to W Series adapter from NZ), so best be sure.
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 11th September 2012 at 12:55 AM.

  • #9
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Yep loctite is a massive pain... found it on my tailshaft bolts on the weekend and it took a 60cm breaker bar and a 40cm ring spanner and allot of swearing to get it undone.

  • #10
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Torque haha, I only ever torque and use locktight on flywheel depending on what kind they are, some flywheels you do others not necessary.

    Just FT for bellhouseing bolts will do fine, I've never done one up without a rattle gun, haha.
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. torque settings on a 5k
      By jdm_510 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 19th July 2009, 02:10 PM
    2. torque settings - flywheel bolts
      By beagle in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 9th February 2009, 11:34 PM
    3. torque settings
      By johnO2 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 21st July 2008, 09:55 PM
    4. 4K torque settings
      By EMD-KE70 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 31st May 2007, 06:09 PM
    5. torque settings
      By hoyin3132 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 12th July 2006, 08:31 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •