Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: O2 sensor question

  1. #1
    Veteran haveaparty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Name
    Brett
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Crestmead
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,159

    Default O2 sensor question


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hey everyone. Posting this up for our mate kyleunwin.


    He has a small port engine with ecu and loom. His question is in regards with the o2 sensor. After a quick search I'm still not 100% sure.

    Does any o2 sensor work or do u need a specific one for his engine. Also. Which is the o2 sensor plug on he engine loom. My research says its a single wire yellow plug?? Also. His extractors require a flange type sensor and not the screw in type. Will this matter or will he hav to plug that one up and get a new hole drilled??

    i havnt looked at the car yet to look for myself. But any help would be appreciated.

  • #2
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Not sure if its a good idea, but I ditched the sensor all together when I bought one of Kaizen's 16V extractors on a stock bigport ecu and didn't have a drama that I noticed?
    I'm sure if I had the check engine light wired it would have flashed a code.

  • #3
    Veteran Jimmee1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    James
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Mt Dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,127

    Default

    Not sure if it would give you a code or not, but fuel economy wouldn't be anywhere near as good. Any single wire o2 is really only used for trimming fuel when cruising and at part throttle. Worth wiring in for a road car definately.

  • #4
    Veteran haveaparty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Name
    Brett
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Crestmead
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    Thanks guys. Will pass on the info

  • #5
    Veteran timbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Tim?
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Wild West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,141

    Default

    I'm running a smallport O2 sensor on my smallport with bigport jap loom. All it needs to be is a single wire type, just so happens that a smallport plug is the same as bigport.

  • #6
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    run an 02 sensor otherwise it'll run a fail safe map and on the rich side, even richer than normal... A single wire universal one will do, 02 sensors are a 100k service item but no one ever changes them.

    I've also heard it knocks a bit of timing advance out as well, but haven't been able to confirm that myself.

    As for the check engine code, it only displays once you put it into diag mode. Code 21 from memory.

    And get kyle to post on here himself not unless he has no hands or is busy doing his hair in the mirror or something....
    Ae86 Drivingclub - Toyota AE86 Car Club where AE86 | KE70 | Toyota 86 / GT86 | Subaru BRZ | Scion FRS owners

  • #7
    Veteran lolwat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Name
    Michael
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Crimebrook 2749
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,974

    Default

    universal single wire O2 sensor, if kyle needs one, i have one from mine

  • #8
    Veteran haveaparty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Name
    Brett
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Crestmead
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    Thanks guys. He would of himself but he was busy taking selfies and doing his hair. Also has no access to the site at the moment.

  • #9
    Moderator dove grey 64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Name
    Geoff
    State
    VIC
    Location
    mt dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,444

    Default

    o2 sensor is 5 on check engine light, worth fitting too.
    mine without 02 gets 40L per 400k's, with gets 32L with 450k's

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Name
    Peter
    State
    Vic
    Location
    Northern suburbs
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    35

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    I have an aftermarket generic replacement on my small port, its a screw in type, but came with a two bolt flange adaptor as well. Heaps shorter than a factory unit too. Was about $80 from Bursons I think. In the loom, it's a shielded black wire from memory.

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. O2 sensor mounting
      By ke_70_blue in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 8th April 2012, 01:10 AM
    2. O2 sensor, what type do i need?
      By danny_ke70 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 15th October 2010, 07:24 PM
    3. o2 sensor for adaptronic -
      By NIZLAH in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 16th May 2009, 12:30 PM
    4. O2 Sensor Plate
      By jason in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 11th March 2007, 08:57 PM
    5. o2 Sensor 4AGZE
      By SKREMN in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 27th October 2006, 12:26 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •