Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: 4age 20v ST- Microtech ecu - wiring / plug pin outs

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Name
    Tristan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Koongal
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    84

    Default 4age 20v ST- Microtech ecu - wiring / plug pin outs


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    hey all
    1983 ae86 sprinter
    4age 20v silvertop (26 pin 16 pin 12 pin connector)
    i've ditched the original ecu and gone with a microtech lt10s and the x4 ignition module
    i've started doing some wiring on the conversion but i really cannot seem to find a decent wiring diagram ( and if i do its in japanese with dubbed english on sensors but the not colour on the wires!)

    i have figured out most of the wiring but this is my first attempt at wiring in an after market ecu too.

    i can't seem to find anything to give me specifics on the following three plugs for there pin out or what i should be wiring them too

    Oxygen sensor ( does the heater circuit stay on all the time ? )

    Throttle position

    Distributor


    this is the wiring pin out i've gone off mainly


    All helps and hints muchly appreaciated!

  • #2
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,238

    Default

    I don't have the answers your looking for but I do want to warn you that using insulated terminals on an engine loom is a very bad idea and asking for trouble.
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #3
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Dizzy & Coil

    http://microtechefi.com/download/LT1...%20CYL%20w.pdf


    Scroll down to whateva set up you have right at the bottom.

    TPS

    http://microtechefi.com/download/tps%20wiring.pdf

    Scroll down to POT type Toyota 4pin
    Last 1uz I wired was with Microtech and didn't wire the O2 heater at all, had no issue I noticed.
    But maybe someone else can shed some light on the subject.

    And Sam is right, cut, solder, wrap and heat shrink or you are going to have all sorts of random issues!

    Am i reading this right, your splicing in to existing wiring at the stock ECU plugs for the Microtech?
    Didn't it come with a full flying loom?
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 10th November 2012 at 08:19 PM.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Name
    Steve
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Other
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    391

    Default

    It appears twisty is trying too wire a Microtech into the factory loom?

    Hence he needs to know what the factory pin out is to adapt it to the microtech plugs.

  • #5
    Noooob
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Campbelltown
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    5,186

    Default

    Ht pin is earthed by the ecu during cold startup... Powered off ign power
    Ae86 Drivingclub - Toyota AE86 Car Club where AE86 | KE70 | Toyota 86 / GT86 | Subaru BRZ | Scion FRS owners

  • #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Name
    Tristan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Koongal
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    84

    Default

    110% true sam! crimp terminals are the devil! one thing i learn't with soldering 02 sensor wires is because of the properties of tin you need to use bakers soldering flux to make the solder stick anywise you will not get anywhere! so i am very certainly going to change it but not until i have in my head around how i am going to wire up the car first, that harness came with the engine to suit a 86 and there are so many bad things no wonder why it was doing sus things! like whoever wired up the 20v to the 86first of all wired the fuel pump to the ecu ignition on wire!?! it looks worse in real life
    Thanks futo! i shall need to have a sit down with the diagrams and see if i can work it out, i can't really find the right plug colours still but i will still look again with more time
    Matt ht??
    Ok so this is what i was planning to do, because i bought the ecu 2nd hand along with the harness which is chopped everywhere looks like this

    i thought i would just cut the plugs off the old engine harness and lengthen the microtech harness to suit up nicely-but its not that easy from what i have been doing because the 20v harness has been hacked by someone too its quite the headache..
    so new attempt was just to use the microtech loom and lengthen it so i can sit the ecu where i want it in the car,
    Am i going about this all wrong?

    Cheers twisty

  • #7
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    Nah, all good now you've explained it.
    Resin core work s threat, but i use blow torch gas soldiering iron coz I'm impatient.

  • #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Name
    Tristan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Koongal
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    84

    Default

    haha nice,
    I rang microtech today to get some info & prices...i didn't realise i can get a sensor kit! to replace the sensors- making it alot easier perhaps?? i'm not sure... but now i have talked to microtech i shall be using just the microtech loom it self no factory loom and try to get away with using the factory sensors if i can

    cheers twisty

  • #9
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    699

    Default

    I've never used "Microtech sensors" with one of there looms.
    The factory sensors will work fine.
    They can sell you a new loom if you want, but what you have there would work just fine.

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Name
    Tristan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Koongal
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    84

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    cheers! looks like round two...see how i go for time to get a good start on it this weekend

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. 4agze ecu pin outs
      By ae86ln in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 30th July 2009, 04:05 PM
    2. ecu pin outs
      By cmesld in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 18th April 2007, 10:24 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •