Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Shithouse Handbrake

  1. #1
    Senior Member luke20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Luke
    State
    Qld
    Location
    Brikdale/Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default Shithouse Handbrake


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hey guys. Just put in my T series diff into my ADM 86. and I noticed the handbrake is absolute poo. it barely slows the car down. Ive just put a brand new top cable on it and adjusted it at the shoes properly. It has 6month old drums and the shoes are fairly new too. My next step is pulling the handbrake cables off my old S series onto my T series. See if that helps.

    Anyone got any other ideas. I'd love to hook up a hydro, but the old thing letting me down is where to mount/hide it so the cops cant see it :/

  • #2
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    905

    Default

    Something's wrong. T series drums usually lock up well.

    In general, adjust the shoes nice and close to the drums, adjust cables so there is SFA lever movement in the cabin. It may help to give shoes and drums a good clean in brake cleaner, and sometimes it takes a little while for pads and shoes to bed in together (though it sounds like this shouldn't be an issue here).

    Also make sure you haven't adjusted the shoes too far out so they are rubbing constantly. Then they overheat and give you zero handbrake.

  • #3
    Senior Member luke20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Luke
    State
    Qld
    Location
    Brikdale/Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Alright sweet as mate. Ill give it another look tomorrow arvo and see if I can fix it. Cheers for that

  • #4
    Veteran maxhag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    JoJo
    State
    ACT
    Location
    Tuggeranong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,789

    Default

    I have the same problem Luke.....

  • #5
    Senior Member DR86FT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Kaan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Emerald
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    595

    Default

    I had this problem and just put the s series handbrake cables on the t series fixed it. But you need to adjust them alot if you r using it for drift. If you use them just as a park brake one time adjusting should do the trick

  • #6
    Senior Member luke20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Luke
    State
    Qld
    Location
    Brikdale/Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    I'm using it for drift. I'm going to do exactly that. Put my S series cables onto my T series. Maybe that will work.

  • #7
    Senior Member DR86FT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Kaan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Emerald
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    595

    Default

    It will but cables stretch and brakes wear so adjusting is needed regularly that's why a hydraulic handbrake is better, I just don't know how they go with drum brakes

  • #8
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    905

    Default

    S and T series drums have an automatic adjustment in them. This was often my problem on track. I think the adjusters move outward when using the brakes while reversing. Fine for daily use, but when you spin on track and step on the brakes hard they adjust too far, making the shoes rub, brakes overheat and you lose your handbrake. Also makes pulling the drums off a right pain in the arse.

    But when adjusted correctly I've found both S/T series drums to be very good at locking the rears.

  • #9
    Senior Member luke20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Luke
    State
    Qld
    Location
    Brikdale/Redlands
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    So I put my S-series Cables on. Handbrake feels great, until you start moving... It still doesnt lock up the rears at all. Even when I reef it with 2 hands. The shoes are adjusted pretty much perfect and the handbrake lever is also adjusted good. Only If there was a good spot to hide a Hydro Handbrake. haha

  • #10
    Senior Member DR86FT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Kaan
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Emerald
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    595

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Pretty sure it's legal to keep the mechanical handbrake and have a hydro handbrake too or engineerable

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. hyrdo handbrake
      By sly1 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 20th January 2010, 11:12 PM
    2. handbrake Q's
      By rolla92 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 22nd June 2009, 05:30 PM
    3. hydroulic handbrake
      By albertos in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 3rd June 2007, 01:43 AM
    4. Handbrake cable...
      By fat86 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 21st May 2007, 09:27 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •