Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: K20A in a AE86

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    10

    Default K20A in a AE86


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi guys,

    I have a shell ready to rock. Was gonna do a F20 swap but thinking I might do a K20 swap. Is there any info on this particular swap? Finding it hard to find any info on this.

    Any info would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    Regards.

  • #2
    Veteran johl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Johl
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,813

    Default

    do the k20's spin the correct way?
    stroked 2L ca18-ae86 in the build...eta xmas 2012?

  • #3
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Probably hard find info as it's rarely/never done. Look at issues swapping a K20 into anything, ECU/cooling/etc then apply that knowledge to an AE86. There's nothing particularly unusual about AE86s regarding engine swaps.

    If it spins the right way and you can find a gearbox that can be bolted on then you're ready to start.

    Just consider there may be a reason it's rarely done.

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks for the reply guys. I've done a K24 swap before but that was into a FWD civic. And pretty straight forward. I'm just thinking if it's gonna be the same effort and money as a F20 then ill definitely go for the k20. From what I remember Beau who use to work at Westside mufflers was doing a K24 swap in his sprinter. I haven't seen or heard since about that build.

  • #5
    Veteran Jimmee1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    James
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Mt Dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    Didn't John at JSP fab in america do the same swap in his formula d trueno? I remember seeing something of it on club4ag a while back, might be worth a look.

  • #6
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,241

    Default

    from what I read the K and F Honda engines both spin the "correct" way
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Name
    Andrew
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Sydney
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    10

    Default

    If true than happy Days

  • #8
    Veteran Rice86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Richard
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Liverpool
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    yeah the K series can be mounted in RWD format as proven in a S13 silvia.. so saying that it can be done.

    I think you will need a s2000 gearbox to mount to the K series, then everything else is pretty much like any other fucked up engine conversion in a AE86 other then a 16v... everything custom LOL..
    dose

  • #9
    Moderator Sam-Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Sam
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Endeavour Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    4,241

    Default

    well the intake is on the passenger side of the engine which makes things easier. Just remember quad throttles makes everything better! I wonder how good those OBX kits are
    My website: SQ Engineering - 4AGE and 3SGE upgrade/replacement parts

    - SQ Engineering on facebook -

    Please e-mail to contact me instead of sending a private message on here.

  • #10
    Veteran Skylar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Name
    Ken
    State
    WA
    Location
    Perth
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,370

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    JSP is the man to talk to. Even though it's not on his site, he might have a jig ready to fab mounts. You may run into problems with America mounts sets though as they are made for lhd and may have clearance issues when used on rhd cars.

  • Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •