Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 4agte timing

  1. #1
    Senior Member adds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Name
    Adam
    State
    NSW
    Location
    St George
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    367

    Default 4agte timing


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hey so I have some silly questions lol,

    regarding timing on my 16v gte, now I understand how to do it no probs but I was reading somewhere that when you bridge terminals E1 and TE1 if your computer is throwing a code it could retard the timing a lot, is this true? I know mine will most likely be putting some codes out there by the way I wired it. And I have not bothered to put a CEL in.

    another thing is that I don't have the bottom cover with the timing marks on it, is there any way to still set the timing without it, or do I have to find one?


    cheers

  • #2
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    717

    Default

    I'm not sure about the timing retard when bridged.
    But, your using stock ecu, so you need to know what codes it throwing, and clear any majors to get out of limp mode.
    CEL would be a good idea.
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 14th January 2013 at 07:15 AM.

  • #3
    Senior Member cooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Name
    Craig
    State
    WA
    Location
    Perth hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    232

    Default

    doesnt it just take the timing back to base value when u bridge the terminals. ie whatever ur dizzy/cas is set to?

  • #4
    Veteran timbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Tim?
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Wild West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,145

    Default

    Bridging puts it on base timing of 10 degrees, usually around 5 degrees less than un-bridged. So it does retard the timing; if you have a timing gun and used it on the timing marks the mark would move right when bridged. There is a timing mark on the oil pump which is used for TDC, but I would put the plastic cover on.

  • #5
    Senior Member adds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Name
    Adam
    State
    NSW
    Location
    St George
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    367

    Default

    No worries, I guess i better just find one, make life eaiser. If the computer is putting a code out when bridging, when setting the timming, will it still be set on base timing (10 degrees) or does the code confuse it ?

    Cheers

  • #6
    Veteran timbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Tim?
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Wild West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,145

    Default

    Bridging is called diagnoses mode, so when the car is running it drops to 10 degrees and the check light will flash. You can have diagnoses mode whit the ignition on by itself.

  • #7
    Senior Member adds's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Name
    Adam
    State
    NSW
    Location
    St George
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    367

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Gotcha. Cheers for your help.

  • Similar Threads

    1. 20 valve timing cover spacer (middle timing cover, alloy plate)
      By KE70Man in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 26th August 2011, 06:30 PM
    2. 4age/4agte Timing belts
      By 4agtezza in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 4th February 2010, 02:20 PM
    3. timing??????
      By weeman in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 14th October 2007, 08:33 PM
    4. GB: Timing Belt Cover Stickers (4AGE/4AGZE/4AGTE)
      By PuGZoR in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 63
      Last Post: 1st October 2007, 12:27 AM
    5. Timing
      By shelldrake in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 28th August 2006, 10:10 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •