Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Hyperpak on a 4age with Weber DCOE Carbs.

  1. #1
    Senior Member pt_y2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Name
    Paul
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    301

    Default Hyperpak on a 4age with Weber DCOE Carbs.


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Anyone on here ever fit one of the Hyperpak units from NZ on a 4a with carbs? It says in the instructions to set "Static Timing" to 15degrees? I've tried puttin the crank to 15 and dizzy at No1 and it will start put pops and farts. I've tried setting the bottom pulley to 0 and putting the dizzy in a tooth or 2 advanced and will start and idle, revs a bit better but still sounds like timings off. Any ideas?

  • #2
    Senior Member Course_Out's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nat
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Newcastle
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Hey mate - I used the Bosch version of the Hyperpak on my 4age running twin 40mm dellortos a few years back.

    I had been told it would run fine, etc etc, but I had the exact same issues you are having now. Made no power, horrible to start, just a real dog. I was lucky enough to have a friend of a friend unearth a modified 4age dizzy (I think it had guts from a Magna dizzy or something?) that allowed vacuum advance. Ran much much better, although unfortuntely I never got it developed as much as I would've liked.

    If i was to do the conversion again I would fit a standalone igntion system, such as an MSD or similar. Would've made my life much easier! Another alternative is to run an ignition only computer (I believe Microtech still does one) or you can trick the stock ecu into running just the dizzy (never entertained this one sorry, so don't know much about it)

    Hope this helps

  • #3
    Veteran blair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Blair
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Sheldon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,047

    Default

    I dont see how that post could possibly help? telling a guy to throw something in the bin and start again?

    I have a hyperpak, it made 108 horsepowers on a stock engine with weber 40's.

    Have been PM'ing Paul, and recommended taking it into Brisbane tuning and turbo centre who sorted mine out quicksmart

  • #4
    Senior Member Course_Out's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Nat
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Newcastle
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Sometimes throwing it in the bin and starting again is the best answer? If starting from scratch is the best move I'd rather find otu sooner rather than later....

    In this case it seems not, which is good news for the OP

  • #5
    Senior Member pt_y2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Name
    Paul
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    301

    Default

    Cheers for the help Blair,got her running some way last night but still shitty enough,just down to the carbs now hopefully!

    @Course out yeah i think id rather find the problem your having with something before throwing it in the bin,it would kill me not knowing...ha!

    Cheers for the help!!

  • #6
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    Just in case anybody is wondering.

    The way to achieve best timing control on a carb 4AGE is actually to use a factory computer and have it run the ignition system but have no injectors connected.

    It is far more precise at matching timing to changing load and RPM than any other aftermarket system out there.

  • #7
    Senior Member pt_y2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Name
    Paul
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Brisbane
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    301

    Default

    And will the vacuum source for the map be good enough? What about TPS?

  • #8
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    You don't need a TPS to control timing. Its used for fuel delivery.

    I'd assume you'd need a balance bar connecting the runners to get a good vacuum signal.

    Many of the AE86's in Japan I've seen with carbs have been done like this.

    EFI is functionally better than carbs in every way though.

  • Similar Threads

    1. Weber 40 DCOE carby, with linkage
      By jluc93 in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 9th September 2012, 07:55 PM
    2. FS: 40mm DCOE Weber carbs (SA)
      By 4A-GE Power in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 23rd February 2010, 02:39 PM
    3. weber carbs
      By MkII in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 1st May 2009, 03:35 PM
    4. weber DCOE
      By terryo in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 7th May 2008, 10:29 AM
    5. weber carbs
      By terryo in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 23rd February 2007, 09:14 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •