Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: ae86 hub seals cant find any?

  1. #1
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default ae86 hub seals cant find any?


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Car - T18

    motor / part in question - front hub seals

    problem - None fit (too small)

    occurs/started when (if applicable)- repacked wheel bearings and hub seals not able to be reused

    personal situation (if applicable)- I'm very distressed


    So pulled wheels off new T18 and looked at the vented rotors on it then saw they where JDM calipers (2022) rotors were all rusty and fucked so pulled hubs off to machine them, then did that and decided to repack wheel bearings while hubs were off did that and all done then looked at hub seals and both were stuffed so went to get new ones the next day and every place I went the ones listed for ae86 were too small.
    I know I defiantly have ae86 struts in the car otherwise the caliper brackets wouldn't fit to use the JDM rotors, which means I should have ae86 hubs but why would 3 different company's have a seal too small for my hubs?
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • #2
    Veteran Jimmee1990's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    James
    State
    VIC
    Location
    Mt Dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,132

    Default

    I work in the parts industry, very possible they have no idea what car you're talking about and are just guessing or they're all using the same seal catalogue with an incorrect part number in it. Or your car has some kind of frankenhubs...

  • #3
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    Nope I know the parts guy at repco and he's got a te71 and ae86 so he looked up, going to try another bearing place tomorrow one didn't have anything in stock to match up. Yeah I was thinking the frankenhubs lol.
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • #4
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    And I've bought a wheel bearing kit for my other T18 that has ae86 hubs and had the correct hub seal, tried that at repco as well and had the wrong size seal in it too.
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Name
    Scott
    State
    florida
    Location
    fort walton beach
    Country
    usa
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ordered mine from Rock Auto. Paid like 4 bucks shipped to my door for both.

  • #6
    Veteran LittleRedSpirit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Location
    West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,923

    Default

    Seals arent a huge mystery to solve. Just take the old ones to a bearing shop and get some that match or re-use the old ones time and time again by using the bearing to pop it out evenly with no damage then just tap it back in when your re-greased.






  • #7
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    Yeah I did that but they couldn't find anything in stock the correct size, yeah I know I always use the bearing to pop the seal out but these were both stuffed before I removed them. I'll go try another bearing place today.
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • #8
    Veteran timbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Tim?
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Wild West
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,145

    Default

    Just go to Toyota Jake, I ordered a pair from Scifleet at Taringa a while back and had no problems. When you do get some throw them in the freezer, it makes them easier to tap in.

  • #9
    Veteran slide86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    Huw
    State
    SA
    Location
    Hills
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,526

    Default

    90311-41123

  • #10
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Name
    Jake
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Northgate
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,595

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    I know I work for toyota haha. And they have same part number listed for the smaller hub seals that I've been finding so I have some sort of freak hubs I suppose :/
    "Not all commodore drivers are wankers, but all wankers drive commodores"

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. WTB: T Series Diff/Axle Hub to Hub
      By CaptShiner in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 27th January 2013, 07:43 PM
    2. Trying to find wires in kickpanel AE86.
      By DAMO46 in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 3rd December 2009, 01:50 AM
    3. WTB new front hub seals
      By drftr86 in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 29th May 2008, 07:39 PM
    4. AE86 Hub
      By Brenton in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 13th August 2007, 05:59 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •