Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ADM vs. JDM Dash loom discrepencies

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Menai
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    883

    Default ADM vs. JDM Dash loom discrepencies


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Hi all, Im currently changing over from an ADM 4AC to a JDM Bigport motor out of a Zenki trueno coupe. I'm having some trouble identifying some plugs on the JDM loom with regards to some heater components and the area behind the glove box.

    The conversion is from ADM dash cluster to JDM digital dash cluster.

    I've taken some pictures to help with my explanation.

    Here in Image 1 i've got just an overall view of each part of the harness. ADM is the top harness, JDM Below. The plugs linked with red lines I have sorted out, my main concern is with plugs A and B from the ADM loom, and plugs 1,3,4 and the flasher relay on the JDM Loom.



    In the ADM loom the connector for plug A comes from behind the firewall, and connects to the wiper motor.
    It appears as if the green plug B connects to a fan speed controller behind the glovebox. However, the JDM loom is lacking this plug.

    The next three images are details views of plugs, 1, the flasher relay, and plug A.

    Plug 1


    Flasher Relay


    Plug A, note that it is 3 pins.


    Now this final image are plugs within the car on the JDM Loom.

    The plug labelled A? fits into plug A on the ADM loom, however on the ADM it's 3 pins rather than 5. Plug 3 fits with female connector 3 on the JDM loom, and I cant find a match for plug 5.


    Now my main questions and concerns
    Why doesn't my JDM loom have a green fan controller plug?
    What does plug 1. do? And why can't I find anywhere to plug it in?
    Why does my ADM loom not have a flasher relay here, considering that previously my hazards were working?
    What has been deleted from my ADM loom?
    Why is plug A differen't between the looms?

    How should I proceed with my conversion from here?
    Last edited by focus_7; 28th April 2013 at 11:50 AM.

  • #2
    Moderator dove grey 64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Name
    Geoff
    State
    VIC
    Location
    mt dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,444

    Default

    I can't give any info regarding your question but I just wanted to say this is a great post. You went to the effort of getting pics and labeling them etc and you hardly see that sort of effort in the tech questions thread. Good work and I'm sure people that know the answer to your question will be happy to help instead of the usual reply of this being covered before and have a search etc

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Menai
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    883

    Default

    Hey thanks man, just wanted for it to be clear. These extra plugs are really doing my head in. I really don't want to miss anything when I plug in the new cluster and stuff.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Menai
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    883

    Default



    Here's the component that the green plug B goes into. I think now it might not be the fan controller, as you can see the fan on the left of the picture, and it already has a plug going into it.

    Can someone shed some light onto what heater/AC component this is?

  • #5
    Moderator dove grey 64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Name
    Geoff
    State
    VIC
    Location
    mt dandenong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    2,444

    Default

    have you checked the workshop manual? http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/fo...ical-Documents

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Menai
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    883

    Default

    Yeah mate, working my way through this document
    http://files.aeu86.org/manuals/ewd-a..._au-parrot.pdf

    However it doesn't really detail the different kinds of AC/climate control setups, and it's not the clearest of books either. Washoping someone with a bit of experience in doing the job has found something similar.

  • #7
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    These harnesses have nothing to do with flashers.

    They are both AC harnesses.

    The box with the green plug is the AC amplifier. It controls the compressor cut in. The JDM one is different because their AC systems often had climate control and/or a condenser fan.

    The relay you've shown is related to the AC system not to flashers.

    If your indicators aren't working its due to a different problem

  • #8
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    What harnesses do you have that you're trying to mate together?

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Menai
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    883

    Default

    I've just seen this post, thanks for the info Goldberg!

    So I've changed from an ADM to a JDM dash loom, however all of the AC equipment remains the same. Going off what you've said I should stick with my ADM AC loom to keep my equipment working as it should.

  • #10
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    I personally would say, if you've got a complete half cut, transfer everything, including the under dash evap, blower etc. Its easier not to have to merge 2 systems.

    If you've only got harness then you'll probably need to use the ADM AC loom, because you don't have the JDM AC amplifier. You may need to play with the wiring a little to make it work though.

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. wtb jdm loom 4age 16v bigport + dash loom
      By shammy in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 25th March 2013, 07:15 PM
    2. Jdm kouki trueno under dash loom
      By Stain in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 10th March 2012, 11:02 AM
    3. Replies: 1
      Last Post: 29th June 2011, 04:24 PM
    4. WTB complete JDM dash loom, uncut etc..
      By Rice86 in forum Cars or Parts Wanted
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 16th September 2009, 10:56 AM
    5. Swaping ADM Wiring Loom with JDM Loom
      By joshcris in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 20th September 2007, 03:18 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •