Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: 20v 4A-GE cranks but doesnt start.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Name
    Tore Daniel
    State
    Norway
    Country
    Norway

Default 20v 4A-GE cranks but doesnt start.

As topic title says..

Engine is freshly swapped and I have no prior 20v experience so nothing to relate to.

Car is 1984 AE86 EDM Zenki Levin Coupè.

Specs are:
    20v AE111 4AGE
    Stock engine
    Stock ignition (dizzy cap @ front #sq-engineering)
    ITG Air filter.

I`ve connected yellow ECU 12v wire from Tweak`d harness to black-yellow on ignition so it gets switch power.
    Tried earthing ECU, checked all earths etc usual newb stuff, no dice

Can feel fuel pump relay (Which I connected feed pump to) click once per crank revolution on starter when I hold the relay in my hand, it just goes click-click-click-click for every revolution on the crank so all is well there (20v ECU only sends power to fuel pump when crankshaft goes around)

Tried running feed pump on separate circuit to build up a more constant flow of fuel but still no dice.

Vid of how it all sounds like when i try to start (For those curious):

Tried putting distributor @ around 10-15deg as per manual (Whole lot better than 0 deg anyway) but no go.
    Double checked all the usual stuff, harness plugs sits tight, connections are good, earths are scraped/polished and tight, 12v power @ terminal is all good, battery got enough juice and so forth, no cigar.

I got no brake booster so large vac-outtakes front and back on the rail is plugged.
    EVAP not connected (Tweakdperformance said it wasnt needed so they didnt make a circuit for it) (So I got a hose from EVAP port on rail to charcoal canister)
    ISCV is connected, ISCV hoses are nice, tight and shut (And huge air filter for it too) and connector plug has all wires and pins/leads completely intact.