Name
    Dim
    State
    NSW
    Country
    Australia

Default 3D Print AE86 Parts

Hi all,

In this week's Aldi specials there was a 3D printer available for $500. They were also selling the raw materials needed for printing.

Given that there's more availability for regular folks to do rapid design and prototyping of parts, are there any AE86 enthusiasts putting together databases of 3D models to replace interior plastics and other pieces that could be made with this technology?

Are there any AE86 parts that are able to be 3D printed at all?

D

Name
    Jamie
    State
    QLD
    Country
    Australia

No idea on the printers, but I work in the modeling industry and have the software to create a point cloud and subsequent model of a part easy enough.
    Maybe I need to start logging some parts!

We should kick a thread off and give instructions for people to take photos of a part and I can model and post on a public free for use spot in the forum.
    I think with project car things there is enough expense already and if we as a group can work together to model some parts that we have laying around, it may help future proof a few of the harder to get ones.

Also if anyone knows of how to get any cad files of parts Toyota may already have floating around and we can put them somewhere.

Just a thought....

Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Country
    Australia

Be nice to print some brake brackets to test upgrades before having them made.

Name
    Marco
    State
    SA
    Country
    Australia

Great ideas all round. Check this thread on another forum which has been going for a considerably longer time (see next post)
    Big up's for the North East Massiv'
    NSATB - New Skids Around The Block

Name
    Marco
    State
    SA
    Country
    Australia

Big up's for the North East Massiv'
    NSATB - New Skids Around The Block

Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Country
    Australia