Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 4AGE 20V Blacktop - Microtech LT10S CAS wiring - Crank input 1 and 2

  1. #1
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    715

    Angry 4AGE 20V Blacktop - Microtech LT10S CAS wiring - Crank input 1 and 2


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Car - AE71 Panel Van

    motor / part in question - 4AGE 20V Blacktop

    problem - Aftermarket ECU / Microtech CAS wiring

    occurs/started when (if applicable)- Wiring diagrams are generic, bad schematics!

    personal situation (if applicable)- Not sure

    Hi to anyone reading this, hoping some one can point me in the right direction.

    Have a 4age blacktop going in my panel van, up to wiring in ecu.

    All's going well up to CAS wiring, I searched and found out the pin outs for DIZZY/CAS....

    On the Toyota OEM CAS side of wiring I have;-
    Black wire = NE / Engine RPM
    Red wire = G1 / Crank shaft position signal
    White wire = G / G1-G2 common earth
    Green wire = G2 / Crank shaft position signal
    *if incorrect can someone point out

    On the Microtech 4 pin Crank input wiring I have;-
    Black wire = GRND [which I take it is G]
    Red wire = Not Connected [Used for Fuel only config]
    White wire = Crank input 1 [is this engine RPM or Crankshaft position signal?]
    Green wire = Crank input 2 [is this Crankshaft position signal or engine RPM ?]

    After scouring the internet for many many hours/days, I cannot work out if crank 1 is NE or G1 or G2
    same for Crank input 2 or which Crank signal wire the Microtech wants - G1 or G2......

    I can't access the CAS to pull down and physically look, as no room, firewall too close....

    Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thank you for reading.

    Ali
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 22nd May 2017 at 08:14 PM.

  • #2
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    901

    Default

    G1 and G2 are the same signals, just 180degrees out of phase. They give a single pulse for each dizzy revolution. So (for example) you get G1 just as cyl 1 is firing and G2 just as cyl 3 is firing.
    NE is a constant rising and falling signal, 24 pulses per dizzy revolution if I remember correctly.

    Can't help with how they connect to a Microtech, you'll have to find out which of Crank Input are used for which function. Sometimes these signals are called Sync and Ref too.

  • #3
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    715

    Default

    Have I got the Toyota CAS pin outs correct?
    I used Phil Bradshaw 20V ECU pin outs from this link
    http://home.clear.net.nz/pages/phil....Pin%20Outs.htm

    I read on Toymods that earlier Microtech don't use G2, old thread from 2006, but I'm guessing that is still the case.
    ref - http://www.toymods.org.au/forums/thr...x8-20v-problem
    That thread is about the same question, only the wire colours from the microtech are completely different now, and the Blacktop CAS pin outs are also different colours to the GZE CAS referenced.

    Based on process of elimination,
    BT20V CAS - Microtech
    NE Black - ?
    G White - Ground
    G1 Red - ?
    G2 Green - Not connected

    My guess would be
    NE - Crank 2
    G1 - Crank 1

    Question is, if I get it wrong will it fry...
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 23rd May 2017 at 12:17 PM.

  • #4
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    901

    Default

    I'm afraid I've never played with 20Vs so can't comment on wire colours. But no, you won't fry things if you get it wrong. All signals are the same level and type, so if it's wrong it just won't run.

    And no aftermarket ECUs will use both G1 and G2, as far as I know. Connecting one is fine.

  • #5
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    715

    Default

    Just double checked BT20V CAS pinouts with this;-
    http://wiring.etshick.com/4age-20v-b...inout-diagram/
    Phil Bradshaw's page is legit, all checks out.
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 23rd May 2017 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Links not working

  • #6
    Senior Member Slimer86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Marco
    State
    SA
    Location
    North Adelaide Suburbs
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    774

    Default

    I experienced similar problem with a silvertop and microtech. Will check my notes when I get home and let you know

    Sent from my GT-S7275Y using Tapatalk
    Big up's for the North East Massiv'
    NSATB - New Skids Around The Block

  • #7
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    715

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slimer86 View Post
    I experienced similar problem with a silvertop and microtech. Will check my notes when I get home and let you know

    Sent from my GT-S7275Y using Tapatalk
    Thanks for that, eagerly awaiting info....

    Far out, I must have read every microtech post made since the invention of the internet...
    and this one is the closest thing I can find to an answer so far....
    http://www.performanceforums.com/for...icrotech-lt10s
    But I don't trust the source.
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 25th May 2017 at 10:23 AM.

  • #8
    Senior Member Futo_gt86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Name
    Ali
    State
    QLD
    Location
    4300
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    715

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Thought I'd just update this so it can be helpful for microtech users who got stuck like i did.

    BT20V Distributor (used as CAS) - Microtech LT10s 4 pin CAS wiring
    Distributor NE Black - Crank 2 / Green wire on Microtech LT10s
    Distributor G White - Ground
    Distributor G1 Red - Crank 1 / White wire on Microtech LT10s
    Distributor G2 Green - Not used

    Red wire from Microtech LT10s loom not used
    Black wire from Microtech LT10s grounded to vehicle chassis.
    Last edited by Futo_gt86; 6th July 2018 at 12:53 PM.

  • Similar Threads

    1. HELP NEEDED 4AGE turbo microtech lt10s thermo fan wiring
      By Gorgi in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 26th February 2013, 02:32 PM
    2. Replies: 19
      Last Post: 24th April 2010, 02:10 PM
    3. Microtech LT10S & 4age ecu
      By munki in forum Car Parts For Sale
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12th March 2010, 12:41 AM
    4. Replies: 5
      Last Post: 10th March 2010, 04:11 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •