Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Name
    Kyle
    State
    Texas
    Country
    United States of (North) America

Default Intro and First of Many Questions to Come

Howdy from the state of Texas! I go by Kyle, and other than wishing for an actual first car, I've got no experience, but do have *tons* of knowledge on maintenance and build from outside sources.

As for that mentioned first question; How would I go about buying, putting together, and running a street tuned 4A-GE of whichever type, followed by implanting it into a chassis similar in character to the AE86 (Miata NA/Anything else as small/light/"cute")

Now while I did say I have knowledge of this, I don't have tuning knowledge, so lots of that would be appreciated.
    (PS I feel like an upgraded ~125bhp base 4A-GE would make the norm of Miatas being extra slow changed...despite it still being slower than most after changes are made)
    (PSS I'll take the hate of mentioning a Miata here, but there just aren't any AE86 trims close by...)

Name
    Matt
    State
    QLD
    Country
    Australia

Hi Kyle,

take your time buy an ae86 when you find one.

Miata wont appreciate ae86 will.

Ebay, Techno Toy Tuning, Group 4 Engineering, Toda, HKS, theres lots of bits for ae86

IMHO buy a GTS and turbo it.

Name
    Dave
    State
    Michigan
    Country
    USA

kyle welcome
    Join the 4AG club. lots of tuning info.
    Search Club 4AG forum and also AEU86.
    Dave W

Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Country
    Australia

I see absolutely no reason to put a 4AGE in a Miata. Unless you just happened to have a Miata with a blown engine and a running 4AGE in the shed.

Buy a Miata, keep the engine and tune/turbo it. Or look longer/harder to find an AE86.

Noooob
    Name
    Matt
    State
    NSW
    Country
    Australia

All engine swaps follow the same process.