Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Throttle cables

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    matt
    State
    sa
    Location
    north
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    26

    Default Throttle cables


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    I thought about tacking this on to the carby thread further down the page but i didnt want to get too far off topic.

    I recently replaced my solex carbs with a brand new set of solex carbs and have found that the stock sprinter throttle cable no longer reaches my linkage. Its only off by about 50mm and I remember someone once saying that there was a throttle cable off another toyota which bolted straight in place of the 86 throttle cable but was longer.

    So any suggestions...Im trying to keep it neat otherwise I would have put some ghetto backyard solution together by now

  • #2
    Veteran R&D Mechanical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Davey & Riki-lee
    State
    South Australia
    Location
    Seaford SA
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    my KE70 cable is faily long and might work (or be too long).

    maybe try that?
    R&D Mechanical, Seaford SA - please visit www.rdmechanicalshop.com
    Our introduction - Click here

  • #3
    Senior Member Hen may possibly be a nut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    Hen
    State
    Victoria
    Location
    Mt Macedon
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    890

    Default

    Most Toyota cables I've looked at will fit. Just go for a walk around a wrecker and see what you can find.

    Or alternatively, I've heard rumours that a JDM AE86 throttle cable is only $60 genuine from Toyota. Just rumours though.

    Hen

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    matt
    State
    sa
    Location
    north
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I had a feeling it might have been a keto that had the right size throttle cable. 4k due to the carby being on the other side of the motor? I cant remember, its been a while since Ive looked in a ke70 engine bay

    Hen, is the jdm cable longer than the adm cable?

  • #5
    Veteran R&D Mechanical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Davey & Riki-lee
    State
    South Australia
    Location
    Seaford SA
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    yeah the ke induction side is on the other side of the motor so the cable is fair long. i have used this cable with my 4agze tho il get a pic up tonight when i go home to show you how much there is hanging around
    R&D Mechanical, Seaford SA - please visit www.rdmechanicalshop.com
    Our introduction - Click here

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Name
    matt
    State
    sa
    Location
    north
    Country
    australia
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Thanks ae70...

  • #7
    Veteran Golberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Lawrence
    State
    NSW
    Location
    Wollongong
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    EP92 Starlet all the way (what I've got on my AE71).

    They are longer by about 70mm at a guess.

  • #8
    Veteran R&D Mechanical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Davey & Riki-lee
    State
    South Australia
    Location
    Seaford SA
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,003

    Default

    heres my jungle:


    R&D Mechanical, Seaford SA - please visit www.rdmechanicalshop.com
    Our introduction - Click here

  • #9
    Veteran
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Name
    David
    State
    QLD
    Location
    Ferny Grove
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,670

    Default

    route the cable under the booster and it won't be such a stand out

  • #10
    Veteran R&D Mechanical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Name
    Davey & Riki-lee
    State
    South Australia
    Location
    Seaford SA
    Country
    Australia
    Posts
    3,003

    Default


    TO REMOVE ADS, PLEASE
    REGISTER OR SIGN IN
    Yeah i just did that after the photo, just a guide to see how long the KE70 cable is.
    R&D Mechanical, Seaford SA - please visit www.rdmechanicalshop.com
    Our introduction - Click here

  • Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. handbrake cables for F-series
      By 1jz jakey in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 31st July 2011, 08:38 PM
    2. handbrake cables
      By Fozz in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 19th November 2009, 10:22 PM
    3. Throttle cables
      By kaneO in forum Technical - Questions
      Replies: 42
      Last Post: 22nd November 2007, 12:41 PM
    4. what have you done with your throttle cables????
      By HiLtOn in forum General Topics (No Technical Questions)
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 27th August 2007, 01:24 AM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •