PDA

View Full Version : 7age cam timing

Daz32
16th May 2010, 02:57 PM
hey i been trying to get my 7age going well its going it will idle fine but im having dramas getting the cam timing right its running 304 8.1 lift in and 288 8.1 exh cams was jsut wondering weather any one on here has had similar dramas i didnt install the cams the motor was bought from japan as a short motor so it had run before but i have now played with the adj cam gears and have had no joy. i have been looking down the degree wheel road but i have never done it before and would have to buy all the shit so if any one has any idea's or points or could come help me out that would be great

Thanks Daz

Sam-Q
16th May 2010, 03:58 PM
ok really stupid and ignorant question, how do you know it's out right now?

BTW thats a really strange grind

SHADOW KNIGHT
16th May 2010, 05:49 PM
Hey mate i also have a 7age with 304 and 288 cams once i found out my cams where toda i emailed them they sent me a spec sheet dialed my cams into there specs and no problems.
Hope this could be of help.

Delazy
16th May 2010, 06:00 PM
Hey mate i also have a 7age with 304 and 288 cams once i found out my cams where toda i emailed them they sent me a spec sheet dialed my cams into there specs and no problems.
Hope this could be of help.

can guarentee your cam timing is wrong..and your lacking quite abit of potential power in doing so...

the extra height the 7afe block adds fucks it all completely...

only way to do it correctly is with degree wheels and the like...but im no expert on this stuff...

seamus and robo had some fun doing it tho...think they had quite a thread discussing it...cbf looking for it

slide86
16th May 2010, 06:46 PM
using a degree wheel can be quite difficult and brain melting for those that dont have a good understanding of how things and how cam timing works....