PDA

View Full Version : running in a new engine

JDMBenji
26th November 2010, 11:09 PM
Hey ,

I just rebuilt a smallport for my 86 all new parts =) and it's almost ignition time.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips on the run in? Because I don't have much of an idea on how to runb in an engine aprt from load it up and don't thrash it....
=)

Benjamin

trikzlane
26th November 2010, 11:21 PM
use mineral oils for the first few services, and disconnect plugs/injectors and crank a few times to build oil pressure and lubricate the motor for start up.

also take it for a good highway run at steady revs (80 - 3rd gear) for a couple of k's, if you let it sit there and idle to long it may glaze the rings and bores

first service at 1000km

trikzlane
26th November 2010, 11:22 PM
but everyone has a different way of doing it, im a mechanic and thats how i was tought

70XIN
26th November 2010, 11:38 PM
highway is good. you want to be putting the motor under load, but not revving the hell out of it. you also don't want to leave it at the same revs for any amount of time, or let it idle for any amount of time.

and i'd suggest changing the oil and filter basically straight after you start thing the thing and make sure it's got no leaks etc etc, there'll be a fair bit of metal in the oil (not filings, just noticeably metallic oil)

Sam-Q
27th November 2010, 12:26 AM
as above, low revs various loads from idle to 3/4 around town, put your foot down but keep the revs down

H8CHIR6KU
27th November 2010, 03:31 PM
i was always taught for revvy motors to bed it in with decent revs, not over the top but not low, and for not so revvy motors to keep the revs low to medium.

the reasoning behind it is that you want to be the motor in to how you are going to use the motor the majority of the time.

also id reccomend a proper run in oil because it is missing a couple of detergents that may make it harder to bed in.

but like trikzlane said everyone has a different way.

Sam-Q