PDA

View Full Version : $1000 to fix 4ac and still pisses oil

Blood Child
25th March 2006, 10:36 PM
here's a brand new mega noob 'technical question for y'all: (well 2 actually)

1. if i just had an oil change and i'm poor, do i put like a bucket or something under the sump and just undo the plug then pour it all back in the top? (sounds pointless, but it seems i need to replace my sump plug gasket).
i also have oil leaking out the side of my *timing cover?*(plastic thingy that goes on the front of the motor) cos it can't seal properly due to one of the bolt holes on it being rather mangled.

2. wondering what tyre pressure i should be running (told u i was a mega noob). i'm running 32psi at the moment and it seems a lil bit bumpy

cheers and thanks in advance

SprinterTRD
25th March 2006, 10:45 PM
1, depends on how old the oil is. Personally I wouldnt as you can never tell if anything has fallen into the oil.

32 PSI is ok but it depends on the tyre

biggo
25th March 2006, 10:53 PM
oil is cheap insurance

and id drop the pressure down to 28 odd psi for city driving.

Blood Child
26th March 2006, 12:43 AM
Originally posted by SprinterTRD@Mar 25 2006, 09:45 PM
1, depends on how old the oil is. Personally I wouldnt as you can never tell if anything has fallen into the oil.

32 PSI is ok but it depends on the tyre
oil wouldn't be more that a week old. i just replaced the sump plug gasket but it didn't seem to help much. just wondering if there is a good way to seal the thread a bit better or something?

also i'm running 195/60 14"s rear and 185/70 13"s front, neither say how much pressure to use

cheers

SprinterTRD
26th March 2006, 12:55 AM
Did you change the filter as well? If you have then I wonder if you have not tightened it correctly and poped the filter seal out.

28 will be ok bit its a 60 series tire so less pressure it will make the side walls flex more when you go around corners.

BTW, yor speedo must be out using 14"60 series tyres on the back.