PDA

View Full Version : Whats the difference?

stouty
5th April 2006, 09:44 PM
Sorry guys dont want to sound like a retard but whats the difference between AE-71 and KE-70? Im new to the corolla game so i dont no can you guys help me out. And what type of price should you pay for a stock one. Also could someone post up some pics of each so i know what each looks like. Thanks guys.

samuel
5th April 2006, 09:53 PM
KE70 (has hi-cam badge on front guards)
Came with 1300cc "4K-C" engine

AE71 (has "1.6" badge on front guards)
Came with 1600cc "4A-C" engine...

You need us to post pics?

Go to www.ke70.com ... Matt had a heap of info up there not sure if it still is or not.

Prices.

KE70
Up to $800 for one with rust but drivable.
$800 - $1500 for a clean one that drives.
$1500+ for ones with aftermarket suspension, 4AGE engine swaps etc

AE71
Up to $1000 with rust but drivable
Up to $2000 for a clean example of a 5 speed manual
$2000+ for ones with aftermarket bits / 4AGE swaps etc

DONT BUY AN AUTO IF U WANT A MANUAL IN THE LONG RUN! It is a pain in the ARSE swap to take the entire fucking dash out to swap the pedal box. Just my 2 cents worth on that one.

I'm about to sell mine. Where are you from?

stouty
5th April 2006, 10:02 PM
Thanks heaps mate. I live in NSW Forster-Tuncurry 2 hours north of Newcastle 4 hours north of Sydney. Can u post up some info about yours. So the bodys of the AE-71 and KE-70 are the same just different engines.

slydar
6th April 2006, 01:49 AM
ae71s already have a hydraulic clutch and t50 transmission. so you can just bolt in a 4ag just like you do an 86.

ke70s are cable clutch, you so have to swap the pedal, and also swap the engine crossmember to suit 4ag engine mounts.

the only reason you get a ke70 is if you really prefer the earlier style headlights.

otherwise you would do yourself a favour and buy a manual AE71.

flamingheads
6th April 2006, 12:03 PM