PDA

View Full Version : hilux diff conversion

peter_soj
29th March 2007, 09:29 PM
Hey team,
Just a few quick questions, im putting a hilux diff in my Rolla and intent convertion it from 5 stud to 4, is it safe to weld up the old holes or is the metal not suitable for this. Im a CNC machine operator so redrilling and refinishing the hub ends is no probs.

Second question, i intend to have a heafty hand break after this so do peaple recomend i keep the stock hilux brakes or to convert to something else? I'd rather avoid putting R31 disks on the back, but if people can convince me i can have a kick arse hand brake without going hydrolic im cool with that and will just mill up some brakets.

Also if anyone else thats done this diff conversion, im all ears for any pointers

Thanks guys

70XIN
29th March 2007, 09:55 PM
Hey team,
Just a few quick questions, im putting a hilux diff in my Rolla and intent convertion it from 5 stud to 4, is it safe to weld up the old holes or is the metal not suitable for this. Im a CNC machine operator so redrilling and refinishing the hub ends is no probs.

Second question, i intend to have a heafty hand break after this so do peaple recomend i keep the stock hilux brakes or to convert to something else? I'd rather avoid putting R31 disks on the back, but if people can convince me i can have a kick arse hand brake without going hydrolic im cool with that and will just mill up some brakets.

Also if anyone else thats done this diff conversion, im all ears for any pointers

Thanks guys[/b]

I can't comment on the welding part, i will be getting driveline services to carry out the welding work.

However, with the brakes, if you are after a hefty handbrake .. nothing really beats a good set of drums, they will lock up every time, especially something of the hilux size.

Gilly
30th March 2007, 10:48 AM
yeah drums will always be a more effective handbrake than a caliper operated handbrake setup.

peter_soj
2nd April 2007, 12:45 AM