PDA

View Full Version : tie rod end thread is a bit stuffed

sprinters_r_mad
1st July 2008, 01:10 PM
refer to last post from me!

ok, I'm trying to install my coilovers myself and its the first time ive ever done anything like this and I'm hoping to learn a few things while I'm doing it BUT considering ive never done this before i have very little knowledge

so heres my question:

at the bottom of the coilovers theres 4 bolts. The thing I'm stuck on is that the bolt heads are not facing outwards, there in lies my problem.

ok, SO to get to these:

[attachment=27747:IMGP1605.JPG]

do i have to undo these bolts (circled in the red)?
(The bit I'm talking about is circled in green)
[attachment=27748:IMGP1606_painted.JPG]

and what other sort of stuff will i need to do to install these 4 bolts?

please don't flame me for not knowing much, I'm giving it a go

cheers guys :2thumbs:

monkae86
1st July 2008, 01:19 PM
you have to pull off your caliper and rotor to have access to those.

Also its better to ask an ignorant question that to do screw it up or give up before even trying.

SNAP
1st July 2008, 01:27 PM
your 2 bolts in red are for the calliper to mount to the calliper bracket
the ones in green mount the calliper bracket and backing plate to the bottom of your strut.

the ones u have circled in green are put in the same way as the top picture

I'm not sure what u need to know

if u just want to take off your break assembly and put in on your new coilovers:

1. u need to take the calliper off 1st ( red circled ones)
2. take the center lock nut out in the center of the hub, should have a split pin in it 2.
3. pull off the rotor and hub
4. now u should see the 4 bolts in the 1st picture they will remove the calliper bracket and backing plate.

now you should have a bare strut like your 1st pic.

to re assemble onto you new coilover struts just do the reverse ov what u did to pull them off..

you only need some sockets with and extension bar.