PDA

View Full Version : anyone with an engine building/racing background discuss here

pen15
29th June 2011, 07:15 PM
ok all this is what i have been thinking about for the past week i suggested it to my boss and he laughed but here it goes titanium gudgeon pins now i know you can get tooled steel but making a 20mm solid pin from good old titanium i would think be a great idea getting rid of useless reciprocating mass and could lighten up a bottomend a fair amount

so my question is to you sam and you toxin and others out there what do you think, it was just a thought but it might be something worth looking into or even trying on a shit stock motor that you don't mind killing

sorry if you mods think its in the wrong section if it is can you move it to a more suitable section

cheers
mat

Sam-Q
29th June 2011, 08:35 PM
ok firstly you have to know I talk big and know random bits of theory here and there but I am really far from an expert. The little I know is that they are prone to galling however they are available off the shelf. Also there are pins that are still steel but of a much lighter design also available off the shelf. Losing weight in this area is an excellent idea. Frak and Assassin would be the real experts on here I would think

Slimer86
29th June 2011, 08:44 PM
Food for thought, pauter make an optional titanium rod available in their range. 4ag rods are in the range, specify titanium and hand over a lot of money.

fantapants
29th June 2011, 08:57 PM
also, and i dont know if this is relevant, but titanium is a VERY soft and stretchy metal. Its surface is VERY tuff, but the metal itself is very flexible and soft. this may be a reason its not a great idea? Ive heard of hollowed steel being used to great effect though....

assassin10000
29th June 2011, 09:08 PM
Depends on the alloy.