PDA

View Full Version : 3D Print AE86 Parts

focus_7
19th February 2016, 10:06 AM
Hi all,

In this week's Aldi specials there was a 3D printer available for $500. They were also selling the raw materials needed for printing.

Given that there's more availability for regular folks to do rapid design and prototyping of parts, are there any AE86 enthusiasts putting together databases of 3D models to replace interior plastics and other pieces that could be made with this technology?

Are there any AE86 parts that are able to be 3D printed at all?

D

jamiesbrain
19th February 2016, 11:40 AM
No idea on the printers, but I work in the modeling industry and have the software to create a point cloud and subsequent model of a part easy enough.
Maybe I need to start logging some parts!

We should kick a thread off and give instructions for people to take photos of a part and I can model and post on a public free for use spot in the forum.
I think with project car things there is enough expense already and if we as a group can work together to model some parts that we have laying around, it may help future proof a few of the harder to get ones.

Also if anyone knows of how to get any cad files of parts Toyota may already have floating around and we can put them somewhere.

Just a thought....

LittleRedSpirit
2nd March 2016, 10:44 AM
Be nice to print some brake brackets to test upgrades before having them made.

Slimer86
2nd March 2016, 07:00 PM
Great ideas all round. Check this thread on another forum which has been going for a considerably longer time (see next post)

Slimer86
2nd March 2016, 07:02 PM
http://www.performanceforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=67274876

Hen may possibly be a nut
2nd March 2016, 10:40 PM